You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Does Memorial Day Really Mean?

in OCD4 years ago

Not a family photo, but, a grandmother and grandchild.

The movies you mention, I am familiar with. Vietnam was less supported by people. mostly the youth and some soldiers spat upon when returning home. Keep in mind, we had a draft then and many were selected for service, others were volunteers. My uncle was spat upon in a train for invading another country, my father was a hero in his town. It depends where you were.

The draft stopped long ago and now it is an all-volunteer military for some time now. Those who are in should want to be there and those who are against it do not need to be.

Rolling Thunder and many other riding clubs were huge supporters of the military and many in the club had been enlisted to service.

Sort:  

Thanks for the explanations! I understand now.

I explained it badly, but, I hope you do understand!

!tip .20

Yes, of course!

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you!