You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Existential - My Creative Journey

in OCD3 years ago

Finally, I found the time the response to your wonderful post! Well, much more like a post, a true article! :) I would've wished for you, other HIVE members would've found this gem and would've taken the time to respond. Therefore I feel I have to put more energy into this comment... With pleasure BTW :)

You mentioned you got into performing art when living the gipsy festival lifestyle. That already resonates with me. I love the festival experiences where the right people, the right music and the right art comes together. Interestingly, like you, I call this a lifestyle while I have difficulties to explain this to friends who don't attend festivals of some sort. But for me this lifestyle is parttime only, ie I combine it with my more or less normal life many of us are living. Although somehow I would love to jump in completely, I think I can't do that. And even when I would make an attempt, I should've done this like 3 decades ago. I guess I have too many responsibilities build into my life already to detour completely... Unless I don't have to worry about money anymore, then the world is completely open to doing whatever. So, am working on that :) But I'll never be an artist of some sort. My art is more exact, numbers, algorithms, and business concepts in areas of IT , Telco and that sort of things.

Anyways, you seem to get into crypto and NFT as the next step in turning your art around. NFT is very interesting indeed. I do wonder though if, in the end, the work required to sell art is not very similar to selling in the physical world. You mentioned, being in art is like 20% art itself and 80% other tasks to get it monetised. Now NFT is still quite small, and many crypto millionaires around, therefore I would think it relatively easy to sell something. But what when we have millions of NFTs out there? Even 10s of millions? It's gonna be hard to stand out of the crowd. Or when standing out of the crowd, hard to be discovered when a certain NFT service holds gazillions of shitty work. What is your view on this, if I may ask?

I love the idea to back the NFT with physical art. You mentioned you sold one for a good amount. What did you do with the physical art? Did you provide this to the NFT buyer? Recently I was thinking about this. The idea of creating an NFT (single piece) and offer the one who owns the NFT, the physical art as well. For this to make possible, some kind of third party physical art vault needs to be in a place where the owner of the NFT can collect the piece if he or she wishes to do so. Do you have any views on this?

Again... Great GREAT article! Loved reading it!