Painful yesterday : now Joy......... all the way

in OCD3 years ago

i never could believe that the very same reason i wanted to give up on life could turn to become the one of the most outstanding element that brings me joy and happiness.

image.png
sources
thinking how i will i survive these

i don't know how it all started but i can tell you that it went rough and it never promised to be fun. i never knew i was going through a training because all my life and at my level of exposure people were not trained that way so i was hard to event believe it was a training.

image.png
sources
my thought was turn into daily tears and pains but still no help

i grew up under a very strict and rigid condition but l never knew it was the best i could have to make the best out of me. believe me the tools that were used during my up bringing were amazing and wonderful tools but i only could see the resources persons as being wicked, hmmmm..... the more l made them see the need not to, the more the system re-enforced to bring out the best in me. it was a very difficult time for me but i had no option because i wanted to proof that l have a future and a purpose to fulfill.

image.png
sources
hardwork is key, they said but l wanted to know how to cook
As a growing young man as was made to believe that i should never be seen spending time near the kitchen, many times l ask why and the only response l got was that kitchen is the ladies place of responsibility, as such any growing young man should only spent time in the sitting room and in the study room, by implication you only need to study hard, read about event news across board, listen to news and at any time you feel like there is need for the stomach infrastructure, just a tap on the bell will make it happen.
so every time am back from school, I will tiptoe into the kitchen to know if there is any thing i could help do but most time, i will be caught on and off the cameras and you know what that means in the African context, (you will so be beaten that you can forget your name in a moment)

image.png
sources
Allow ladies to do the cooking while you do the eating, its their stuff

as the day went by the journey became more difficult and complex, but i wouldn't accept to scarifies my love and interest for cooking for anything. i did my best to please them in my academic performance so as to allow me stay around in the kitchen when food is cooked but all to no avail.

image.png
sources
after all said and done, l was given a golden invitation to watch ditches, l grabbed it with all my heart but unfortunately l broke about 6 plates, so l was finally band from the kitchen, l tried staying off for a few days but l had to go back. after all the apologies, l was ask to stay but for just 5minures , so l began to assist in cutting and slicing vegetables.

image.png
sources
after a while staying around becomes fun and helpful, all i had to do was to make them laugh while cooking, so that at any point in time cooking was to be done, l will be sent for but while and while l made the atmosphere conducive, i was also receiving the knowledge l needed. i call that exchange of services, i gave them what they needed and got what i wanted.

image.png
sources
like play, like play @ekeminiemy became a kitchen star.
now l can boldly say that am very successful in my carrier as an engineer and l can also make bold to say that daily some figures are added to my wallet, courtesy of the the few days borrowed times l spent in the kitchen.

image.png
sources
Now for me cooking is fun, i play around with the available, simple and common ingredient, at the end of day , they marvel ,
wawoooh.......
my....... God... you are good
how did you make, this?

now my painful experience has become fun and a source of income.
this became possible because l converted my painful experience into a school of skills development.
while you use your brain, please do well to engage your hands
now the same people who were against my coming around the kitchen are the once who derive more joy in my ministry of stomach infrastructure.

image.png
sources
Afang soup

image.png
sources
Ekpang Nkukwo

image.png
sources.
Atama soup

image.png
sources
Editan Soup
Hey!!
i know what is on your mind right now hmmmm.....
but don't worry even if you salivate while going through my experience, it will only make what happened to me happen to you.

in my subsequent post , i will will let you know how to go by each of the soup if you are interested in knowing how to cook them, i guess you will need it.
still @ekeminiemy, a native of ibibio tribe, Akwa abasi ibom state, south south Nigeria, west Africa. thanks for your time, good food is healthy living
feel free to leave below your comment .
love you.....
see you on my next post

Sort:  

I believe cooking is a life skill and every should know a little bit, just enough to survive at the least. I have taught my boys basic cooking, but they have not shown interest.
I wonder why they make it seem like cooking is just the woman's domain? Majority of the chefs worldwide are men.
Glad you enjoy cooking.

thanks so much @sofs-su i don't know why but am grateful l deed

Nice piece here, funny enough I have tasted all soups mentioned on your post and if possibly you can make those dishes like you say, mehh its a big thumbs up.
Love ow you were able to achieve and build yourself irrespective of the threats around you

thanks for taking your time, i realy appreciate

Firstly, I must say you're a great writer and you didn't add that to your profile while listing Engineer and Cook 😊

I love how you write and I love the story shared of how your painful experience turned to your source of income, that's a really good story for people to hear.

I haven'tasyer those meals you shared there but they do look really delicious, maybe you will prepare them for the whole Hive community 😂

Well done with this post, expecting more 😌


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Lol.. The part where you broke 6 plates just cracked me up and lightened the mood while reading about your sad experience of trying to fit into the kitchen lifestyle.
Anyway,that's Africa for you. We tend to think it's odd for a man to cook whereas in saner climes around the world, men are the best chefs.
I'm glad you still followed your passion, nevertheless. and those are amazing meals you shared with us