ENGAGE ON HIVE: Overcoming my fear

in OCD4 years ago

I know almost everyone has a fear of something, it could be a fear of spiders, rats or even dark places but mine was heights and I know I am not the only seating on this table. Growing up, I loved amusement parks, I loved the roller coasters and how people screamed with excitement when going up and down, it was just thrilling to see people go wild on rides that look risky but fun. I mean from the pictures below who wouldn't want to try something crazy sometimes lol.
images.jpegsource


dreamstime_s_144049663-e1568388743120.jpgsource


0_Do7Y1KxVzVMf1rMn.jpegsource


But I never got on any of the rides due to my fear of heights. I didn't like d feeling I got when I was really far from solid ground, I always felt like I was unsafe and my legs could just give away at any moment and my heart will be beating so fast; adding more to my anxiety. Still, this didn't stop me from going to watch people go on crazy joyous ride that I wanted to partake in but could not.


However, last summer, I went to California to stay with my host family for the summer. It was really hot during that period and I devoured ice-cream almost everyday. I did not go out much except for walks so I spent most of my weekdays in the house watching movies, reading a book or playing games, and my weekends going to the movies with my host family or just staying indoors again.


One fateful Saturday, my host family children ( I call them my cousins) wanted to go somewhere more fun and wild; that's when they decided to go to SixFlags ( I mean where else could people get some crazy fun while screaming on the top of their lungs) since they each had tickets and a guest ticket for me. Now, 2 of their children were teenagers while the third child was still 5 years old so she could decide not to go on any rides but I couldn't because I didn't want to be a party-pooper and for me this was the time to overcome this annoying fear since I won't be on the ride alone but with my cousins. So I decided to give it a try and off we went.


When we got to our location first thing my cousins noticed was that there were not as much people as they usually were and we were a little surprised but the same time happy because that means less queue to get on a ride. We started with a less crazy ride (below is an image similar to the one we were on). It was not way up in the sky, so my fear was not really kicking in and it was really fun.
szwcdslgg67al0okxvh5.jpegsource


This got me really happy because I felt I had overcome my fears so I wanted to get on more rides, much higher rides. So we moved to the next one which was really high but I felt it was no big deal. I got in and strapped the belts around me while continuously saying to myself it is no biggie I will enjoy this ride with no fears.
vip_day_283_-_enhanced.jpg source

Then the rollercoaster started lifting us off the ground gradually and we were high up, really high but I didn't panic yet until it started rotating. Now I began to panic I felt like I couldn't breathe and was really screaming but the odd part was I enjoyed it. It is really hard to put it in words how I felt. I hated it but liked it and at a point I got used to it and felt more stable. I could control my breathing now even though my heart was beating so fast. When we stopped and got down, I felt a little dizzy but whole. I was really happy and proud of myself like I won a prize money because I had just done something I felt I had never do but watch. Then I started looking around for the next rollercoaster I would like to try, a ride I would never had wanted to be on, and I saw the medusa.

1200px-Medusa_(Six_Flags_Discovery_Kingdom)_01.jpegsource

Again me and my cousins got in line. At this point, I was really praying that this courage and excitement doesn't leave me before I got on the ride so I won't back off. Fortunately, rain started pouring instantly, it felt like a miracle because most people on the line started leaving and we were able to get on the next ride. This was the best ride out of all the rides I was on that day maybe the rain made it more fun or it was how me and my cousins were screaming crazily that made it exciting but it was the best. Whenever we go from really high to really low at a great speed, my heart felt like it was going to fly out at any point.


That day was really one of the most memorable days . From that day onwards, I gradually started not focusing much on my fear. I can go on roofttops now which I never did before. I can get on a plane now without trying so hard to force myself to sleep, I even pick seats close to the window so I can look down which I never did before. When I used to wish so much for a flight to end; now I feel a little sad when the plane begins to land because the beautiful view of the clouds I get to see comes to an end.


One thing I noticed is that everything is so beautiful from the top especially at night. The houses, cars and people all look like a work of art from above; with beautiful stars illuminating the sky. I figured out how I let my fear made me miss out on so much fun and nice view; so each day I try to prevent my fear of heights from stopping me to go where I want to go or do what I want to do.


Some people may not really see it as a groundbreaking fear to overcome, I have met some people who said it is just to get on the rollercoaster and sit; then let everything just happen. But it is really not that easy and it is not immediately the fear goes. But I really overcame mine by challenging myself to beat it so I could get on the crazy rides I want with my friends. I will also say my cousins made me overcome this because if they didn't make me comfortable or go with me all the way on the rides, I would never have thought of challenging myself. So my advice to myself and anyone facing a fear as mine is to challenge yourself but slowly, from a lighter challenge to a harder one till you are comfortable. It is also good to have someone who can push you and be there for you at the same time. Still, we have to plan on overcoming and putting in work before we truly can.


I am so grateful to everyone who took the time to read this. I hope you find it interesting and use it as a way to overcome your fears too. Have a great weekend

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this content. It's well written. I have fear of traveling on water. I will rather prefer to take an alternate route and means than travel on water.

Thanks a lot

The fear of heights is a common one and like most fears is able to be addressed. Like you say in your post, to challenge the fear is the way to overcome it however many people stay safely withing their comfort zone rather than face that fear, or the effort and emotion around the process of overcoming it.

Thanks for this nice post and all the best with your future posting here on hive.

Wow, I must say I really enjoyed your story. I was actually smiling through out the text, really interesting.

I hope to read more of your write ups enny. 😁😁

I am still afraid of heights. But much less than I used to.I tried to overcome it by skydiving. It helped me to jump from a plane and be scared as ****😂