You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I Discovered: Viewing The International Space Station From Earth!

in OCD4 years ago

I'm going to have to visit that Facebook group, it sounds interesting. It's fascinating what people can accomplish without much money or high-end equipment. I've seen the space station whirling by while I was up on the North Shore of Minnesota. There's almost zero light pollution up there and it is incredible all you can see. Once, in the late 90's, I tent was camping near Grand Portage and we saw three points of light very high up (maybe in the stratosphere?) performing unbelievable maneuvers. They would be stationary and then suddenly zip what must've been hundreds of miles in just a matter of seconds. It was a sight to see.

Sort:  

You really do, it's amazing! Here's the link. Baker Street Irregular Astronomers
Man I would love to go somewhere with zero-to-little light pollution and stare up at the stars. That must have been pretty amazing to see those lights!!

Thanks for the link! It was pretty fascinating. We're lucky here, we can drive just a few hours north and you can see millions of stars. If you ever find yourself in the Twin Cities (during the warm months) let me know and we can take a drive up there.

I joined the group @cryptogee. I'm really enjoy it. Thanks again for sharing it!