You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small moment

in OCD3 years ago

I see some comments from others.. but not this one..

As a father myself, and the "golden child" (if you ask my 2 older brothers), I certainly had my devilish moments as well. Many I am reliving now as a parent. One in particular I recently apologized to my mom about - for being a terrible kid with going to bed at night.

I specifically remember getting up multiple times each night (because as the youngest, I wanted to be awake.. my older brothers were awake, my parents were awake, why not me too!? I wasn't asleep yet or tired, just let me stay up!).

Currently, my children are going through a similar situation- getting out of bed, calling for mommy and daddy, and fighting just going ....... to sleep.

I can share other examples, but this one is vividly in my mind (as I hear a child screaming for me right now).... Where was I?... Ah yes..

No matter what happened, your father loved you. If anything, the fact that you can reflect on these moments and feel guilty or remorseful - that would possibly be the proudest moment for your father. Not the apology, not the remorse, but the self-realization. The accountability. That's the best feeling that we can get as a parent - knowing that some of the values that we tried, and tried, and tried...... And tried, and tried ... I could go on for days, weeks, months, years, but maybe you get the point? :)
The values stuck.
That's a proud moment for a parent. Not the apology. Not "doing what you're told", but actually knowing that a child has learned and is applying the life lessons and values that we try so hard to instill in our children.

You're doing alright 👍 and I think that your dad would be proud of who you are today!

Sort:  

Oh thanks man, such a great comment, heartfelt and personal. It means a lot.

I think you're right, about the fact my parents would be proud of the way I turned out and how I learned from all my fuckassery back in the day. I had a pretty decent upbringing, meaning my parents were mostly good role models and I was raised with good (family) values. I really looked forward to passing that on to my own but that wasn't to be. So, I'll be the bad-uncle to @smallsteps and let @tarazkp deal with it as the parent. Lol.

The values stuck

This is a good point and I'm really pleased you took the time to say it. It's is something I'll remember and use down the track, personally and with those I work with as mentor. It's an excellent point.

And lastly? Serves you right bro, your kids are giving you a taste of what you did...Well deserved probably. 😂

Hey, thanks man.

And lastly? Serves you right bro, your kids are giving you a taste of what you did...Well deserved probably. 😂

Haha, yeah. I think it's fair to say this is Karma 🙂

In all reality, if the children interrupting my sleep is my worst problem as a parent, I will consider my job as a success 👍 🙏

The best part about being "bad uncle" is that you get to be an influence on your niece's life (good or bad) and then just pass her back to @tarazkp! Also, you can still pass on the learnings and values from your parents- just like I'm sure @tarazkp is trying to do .. sometimes the crazy uncle (or aunt) can get through when the parents can't.

Cheers 🍻

"You know what Uncle @galenkp did? - Don't do that!"

Haha, yep karma indeed. Still, I'm sure you do a good job with them, the best you can.

Lucky for tarazkp he lives in Finland and I'm in Australia. The bad-uncle influence is passed on only via WhatsApp video chats...I do my utmost to instill bad habits in her that he'll have to break! 🤪

She's a good kid in truth, smart and cheeky. Like I was. Well, I was cheeky at least.