My Little Bro Portrait

in OCD4 years ago

Hi,
Precisely two weeks ago, I got my pencils and for the first time in like forever I started sketching. I mustn't fail to mention that I never had any formal training in the art (although I'm a pianist). My brothers were very much intrigued by what my hands were conjuring and over the weekend when my Little Bro came over, he asked for a portrait. So two days ago, I cooked up one with a childhood memory. Back when we were little, there was this large Water body, a river actually at one end of the community. My Uncle loved that spot so much he went there almost everyday with his friends and a guitar. It's so sad the shores have been sold and there's nowhere to sit since it's become a business place. Luckily, there happen to be a bridge not so far away where you can from above see not only the large body but also at the opposite end, a very beautiful view of the estate. It was on this bridge that I pictured my brother and here you have it;

IMG-20200804-WA0088.jpg


The outline was neatly done with my 6B after which immediately, I started adding certain depths.
IMG-20200804-WA0097.jpg


The idea of putting out on paper a familiar face was quite new to me, so I was very cautious as not to leave out little details.
IMG-20200804-WA0098.jpg


Being new to the business, I got myself an instructor and he has been teaching me how to improve my sketches as well as some dos and don'ts. He however has not been around for some days so I kinda had what you would call a refreshing experience pouring out this one. I tried my blending out on a paper first to know the amount of pressure I should inflict lest I ruin everything.
IMG-20200804-WA0094.jpg


And hours later, all that was left was the background. I must confess, the little details are killjoys.
IMG-20200804-WA0093.jpg



Materials used for this pencil portrait were an HB, 6B and my favourite 10B.



My instructor, @tezzmax



Thanks for stopping by, Do leave a comment.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ezunjoshy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!