Finding the perfect work environment & Putting Myself First

in OCD2 years ago


Simple Reminder.jpeg
source

Over the last few years I have had a few different jobs. I worked at a bank for 7 years, 4 of them were working at a branch doing transactions, backing up my boss, opening accounts, the list goes on and on. The other three were as a supervisor running the whole bank basically. I loved my job, but my upper management was horrific. I slowly started to lose traction in my mental health. Which I touched on quite a bit in earlier posts, when eventually it was, I was going to go to a hospital, or quit my job. I quit the bank after 7 years and began working for big corporate Walmart.

I started as a manager over the cashiers and I really enjoyed it. They saw my potential and placed me in a department as a department manager. Shortly after, the job titles and positions were changed and I was moved from that job, back up front to be over the cashiers again as a "Team Lead". This was all fine and dandy, but management switched and things went to poop real fast. My mental health was rapidly declining again, and after we'd nearly lost our daughter from complications after covid, my priorities shifted hard.

My friend had posted that his work was hiring an Office Manager. It was however many hours I wanted/needed, and I figured "how hard could it be". I sent in my resume, and was called back within a day for an interview. I excitedly went in to interview and see my buddy (I worked with him at the bank) and at the end of May I started my new job. This company by FAAAAAAR is the very best company I've had the pleasure of working with. They gave me 3 raises within 3 months of starting there and a bonus to end the year. They allow me the space and time to support my family, and our daughter's sport functions. They don't berate me when I need a day off to get better from being sick. It has made me realize how very abusive my previous working environments were.

If you are in an unsafe work environment that is breaking you down, take a moment to remember your worth, set some boundaries, and put yourself first.

OfficeView2.jpg
Photo By Me - Office View

I am so very grateful that Wes knew I needed to leave Walmart and he just supported me without us knowing what the next step was gonna be. We just knew I needed out. I am grateful for my new bosses and the love and genuine care they show every single day. I never thought in a million years I would be a construction worker...a dainty one...but a construction worker nonetheless. I love it so so much!! There is so much room for growth and the upper management keeps telling me to reach for the stars (like grab a position that people go to school for 6-8 years for). It is amazing!!

OfficeView3.jpg
Photo By Me - Storm rollin in

Sort:  

I’m so glad that you are loving your new job and that it is a better work environment. Walmart sucked so bad, lol

It sure did!! It is a much better place to spend 8 hrs a day!!!

Congratulations on things finally coming into place for you 😊

Thank you 🙏🏻 it's been a loooooong time coming!