You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM: The Disproportionate Power Balance with Downvotes

in OCD4 years ago

I've always felt that the biggest Steem stakeholders often conduct themselves in ways that reflect very poorly on the Steem community as a whole. Giving them more downvoting and destructive power was bound to end badly.

The "I can do whatever I want with my stake" power-play mentality should be replaced with a "I will use my stake to nurture and support the community, especially newcomers and smaller accounts with original content".

Some whales have been supportive since Steem inception since 2016, but in-fighting has always been way too prominent on this platform. I hope this improves, but until then personally I'm pretty passive here.

Sort:  

The thing is that we didn't give them more power, they gave it to themselves. The largest accounts provided the most support for the EIP.

That is the weakness of a Stakebased system. (DPOS) One of the most difficult elements of decentralization is the big decisions are not made by the most qualified or educated, or with the most experience the decisions are made by those with Stake.

The largest Stakesholder mined the most in the early days. Which also is not a skill set I would necessarily equate with building a social media site. :)

Sometimes understanding HOW something works is better than deciding how it should work.

In my opinion many of the whales could care less about the social network and it shows.

In my opinion many of the whales could care less about the social network and it shows.

I am currently only a minnow, but what kind of social network do you (and some other people) talking about? Where is the social side? The majority of the Steem blockchain users are selfish and greedy. They focus only about their own blog posts, and they do not care other people's blog posts. There are ~ 30 000 posts made every day, but the average number of comments is only around 3. And most of these comments are bot and/or spam-like comments. Nowadays the real human interaction is rare on the Steem blockchain. If the majority of the Steem blockchain users are selfish and greedy, then why do they except any different action from the whales?

Good point. That's why I say if you want engagement, engage.

Sometimes there are shades of right and wrong ..

like I want you to find my content and upvote me... That's not a good idea, it isn't likely to happen.

Also wrong, I'm going to ignore everyone else, but I want to be successful.

We want decentralization, but we also want to cry to authority when we don't like what is happening...

Pick one. :) Good comment