My self Isolation challenges: smiling proves helpful

in OCD4 years ago

For the past 11 days I haven't been active on hive not because I've lost interest in it but because of I've been handicapped by the devastating effect the virus has put on the locality I'm in now.

When this COVID 19 pandemic started spreading rapidly in the Asian, American and European countries. It seemed like a joke to us here in Nigeria.

Until the first case was recorded on the 27th day of February.

Like what other countries did, the government imposed a lockdown and self isolation on everybody, that is already telling on me negatively in the following ways:

  • No electric power supply: the power holding companies in my area claim they can't be 100% functional.

  • No means of transportation: All the taxis, tricycles and bikes are all on break since the police and COVID 19 task force here are harassing them.

  • The prices of things in the market, that's if you manage to see someone selling have doubled.

  • My generator broke down and there is no where to go fix it and the worst part of it being that I didn't come back with my tool to work on it myself.

  • Poor internet network, I wouldn't have come back to my hometown if I had known.😡😡

All these problems have spoilt my daily routine of:

  • Studying the crypto and forex market.

  • Posting and reading people's blogs on hive.

  • Doing my CAD designs.

  • Watching football, which help me relieve stress and boredom.

These problems have been drawing me back in hive, because my target when I joined hive 6 days ago was to be making atleast one or two posts a day but that target has proven difficult to achieve.

But I won't be dismayed because

after the rain comes the sun

I listen to Pharrel Williams' "happy" more than 10 times a day and try also to put a smile on my face just to feel ok.

2020-04-18 17.37.53.jpg

2020-04-08 18.49.30.jpg

Yes despite the fact that things are not going well as expected I always try to smile because a research work I came across online says that

Stress can permeate our entire being, and can really show up in our faces. Smiling not only helps to prevent us from looking tired, worn down, and overwhelmed but can actually help reduce stress.

Smiling can reduce stress even if you don't feel like smiling or even know that you're smiling! When you are stressed, take the time to put on a smile. You and those around you will reap the benefits.

Everyone has his or her challenges, it maybe bigger than mine currently or lesser.

No matter the magnitude I urge everyone to strong and persevere, together we'll see the light at the end of the tunnel.

So I'll keep on smiling in this hard times and spend any little time and opportunity I get to be online on hive.

Hey! Stay safe and put a big smile on your face

Sort:  

Ye smiling always help in any worst situation haha, Nice smile man! let's hope the tunnel are going to finish so the sunshine would touch our skin once again.