You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hung out to dry, or did @gmuxx just duck?

in OCD4 years ago

Really sorry to hear this. We put so much work and creativity into building websites and even invest in it in the hopes of future returns. To me, this is supposed to be an area where we help provide something different, where at least the content and engagement are still there. I think it would be useful if we also provided an additional option for people to retrieve all their content stored on Steem with the same formating you had on WordPress. So that if you were to start a new website, you can just bulk post it and have it back up the way it used to be.

As for hosting, I would probably recommend FastComet. Or a serious provider of that standard. If one is already going to pour a lot of time into the site and writing, then that would make sense to me.

Sort:  

I appreciate your comment @fredrikaa.

I think it would be useful if we also provided an additional option for people to retrieve all their content stored on Steem with the same formating you had on WordPress. So that if you were to start a new website, you can just bulk post it and have it back up the way it used to be.

This would be a fantastic innovation. I think there well may be folk concerned about their work given the current Steem/Tron challenges and what might happen if there's a fork.

Thanks for the hosting recommendation. I have already (happily) committed to hosting with Afrihost through which I purchased the domain. Three reasons: it's local, it's reputable and it's affordable.

I have to say that what has made me even more angry is that I'm an advocate for small businesses. I am/have been a micro business, so I get the challenges. However, it's exactly this kind of behaviour that jaundices people from using small business. Quite understandable.

I am hoping that I'll be up and running again soon.

Thanks again for the support.