Time to Make Bitcoin Green

in OCD3 years ago

Hi everyone

I have concerns about the environmental impact of the use of Bitcoin but I have some idea's to make it greener.
It is a journey and I started to investigate more the use of small devices for supporting the blockchain network.

There are several guides to setup a Bitcoin full node in Rasberrypi.
https://blog.brakmic.com/running-a-full-bitcoin-node-on-raspberry-pi-3/
https://howchoo.com/bitcoin/run-bitcoin-full-node-raspberry-pi

I have a few Rasberrypi V3 and I tried with and without a GUI.

1.jfif

The setup is running now with a 500GB HDD.

2.jfif

With 45 connections and also incoming because port 8333 is open for the device.

3.png

Registered my full node bitnodes.io

But I also played with the command version of the Bitcoin full node:

4.png

5.png

6.png

And after a few hours 18 connections.

I hope you like to read this post and see the success of my efforts.
By sharing this maybe others are motivated also create a Bitcoin full node on a Raspberrypi, it is very energyeffecient.
My idea's for a more energy-efficient Bitcoin blockchain ecosystem I shall share in the next post I make in this topic.

Have a nice day everyone

Sort:  

What's the total cost of setting up one of these nodes?

I've seen a bunch of cool pi projects like this. I'd like to do this, as well as running a node on tor or some VPN. Further contributing to the decentralized paradigm would be cool.