You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If Furlough was an option, would you put your name forward?

in OCD4 years ago

Hey mate, firstly, and without the full details of course, I feel you did the right thing by sticking your hand up as you did; It shows character.

Anyway, before all of this broke I mentioned to the Director, I report directly to, that I will voluntarily take a pay cut for a period of time to help keep the company viable. This was prior to them announcing any cuts. I think it went a long way towards building some additional credibility.

A few days later the pay cuts happened and since then things have declined further. We have made some adjustments here at home, but it's been difficult considering my wife's income has now, since then, declined quite significantly.

Still, I don't regret my decision to get in early and volunteer.

I think we all need to do what we think is right at the time and for our own circumstances and sometimes that will work out fine, and at other times not.

I wish you all the best with it and feel you have made the right decision. A furlough is preferable to the alternative.

Sort:  

Tough times everywhere huh. That volunteering prior to the fact sounds like it could have put you in good stead, and given the bosses further ideas? :)

It did feel right to have a chat, and it went as well, if not better, than expected. Hopefully this will blow over fast enough, although I'm currently not so convinced.

I was already on tuna and couscous as well.....

Love me some tuna and couscous...But I get your point.

I'm hoping for a fast blow-over but not sure it'll happen.

As an aside, I head today the company accountant (pay lady) quit with a days' notice - Never bodes well for the reasons behind the exit. Today is payday too...Hmm.

I know her personally and sent a text as I didn't know she was quitting...She's responded but not with any reasoning although I'll find out at some stage. My bet is the pressure she was put under by the Directors to pay-drop everyone and their methodology behind doing so. Time will tell.

I hope I get paid today though...Tuna and couscous might seem like a glorious feast if i don't. I might be eating one of my boots. Lol.