You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Auto Biography

in OCD4 years ago

Hey, @thebigsweed.

There is a reason why they say they don't make them like they used to. The more complicated they get, the more expensive it is to fix. Of course, one could conclude that things are exactly the way they want them—dealers get more money because DIYers get less and less able to do it themselves.

My Dad was a mechanic for most of when I was growing up, and while they did have the diagnostic machine and such, I don't remember him ever saying he had to take apart the engine compartment just to get to the parts on and around the engine bay. Just dumb, and any more, they create more points of failure.

We had a chevy impala once. Big old thing from the early 70s. Broke an axle on the way home from church one Sunday morning. That's about all I remember of it. :)

We're doing pretty well here. The feds keep throwing money at us, so I guess we're supposed to be happy and grateful we're not working while they keep us under lock and key.

I haven't really been staying home just because, though. And we are looking to get our garden going here in a couple weeks.

How about you? Sounds like you've been having some visitors lately. Sorry to hear about the STEEM voting for witnesses debacle. I didn't even think about how some might actually accidentally vote for the "wrong" ones when there was such a push and hurry to do it.

I pretty much ignored the call myself. The crisis was in part the fault of those who were demanding the call to action, whether they ever want to admit that or not. I hope there will be a satisfactory resolution at some point. Let me know how I can help with that. I'm sure there will be others willing to vouch for you, too. :)