You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BitFi - The "McAfee" Hardware Wallet - A Personal Review!

in OCD4 years ago

Thanks, man! sounds interesting, although the pure consciousness concept is really foreign to me.

Does the device connects to the internet at any moment, or the firmware that comes with it is set in stone since it's shipped?

Good advice on keeping assets in different devices to minimize any loss. How do you go about having multiple Nemonic phrases thrown around? I find the written it on paper it's super archaic and easier to misplace.

Just came to mind of booting a password manager using a USB Drive to store half the mnemonic and the other half somewhere else? Do you think is a safe bet?

Looking forward to your thoughts after a few months using it.

Catch you later man!

Sort:  

Hey bro, I apologize for the super late response -- this move has been a very interesting one thus far and I've had very little time to hang around, both on Discord, and Hive 🙃

So to break it down a little further:

When you first receive it, yes, the device has WiFi, and you "connect" to the internet to receive your device "push" confirmations from BitFi themselves (something that I'm still tossing up as to whether I'm a fan of or not).

As to mnemonic phrasing, yeah, this can be a challenge at times - with Ledger, you have a 24-word seed - personally, I have my seed etched on a metal plate, saved in an off-site vault (in case I ever need to recover it). It's not something I keep on my person.

However, that's an interesting idea - having half of your seed locally / memorized, and another half elsewhere. If you kept it on a local drive, I would ABSOLUTELY recommend using something like Veracrypt and creating a "hidden partition" on a USB drive - while encrypting both partitions on said drive. This has the added benefit of giving you plausible deniability (not that you'd ever need it, but it's there in the off-chance you do).

As for the BitFi device, it shows a lot of promise, and throwing it into the mix of my crypto storage "system" is something I'm working on mapping and implementing once I've settled down. I actually have another factory sealed BitFi device that I'm going to offer the HiveHustlers community at a nice discount, I'll be presenting the offer in a few short days on Discord, so stay tuned ;)

Bro, It's all good! You're moving houses!

That metal etching sounds as good as it gets, but not sure we have a service like that here in Australia. I'll check it out. What happens when you get a new device, can you reuse the same mnemonic?

I've just downloaded Veracrypt to check it out. Plausible deniability seems a must-have feature to consider when storing important stuff.

The benefits of being a HH and having to access discounts and benefits!