Challenging myself with perspective and reflection

in OCD4 years ago

wip paint.jpg

The first layer of a painting that I'm working on.


I am an artist who enjoys painting portraits. Portraits are my focus (as of now) since I find myself effective in conveying ideas through them. Also, cos painting human anatomy is interesting.

I have drawn and painted still life and landscapes too, but I don't enjoy it much. Mainly because I can't really convey my ideas through them and also because painting them is challenging, especially when you're painting trees or grass. There's too much repetition and I don't like it cos I don't have the patience for it lol.

One thing I'm also not a fond painting of is painting buildings. To me, there's just a lot of straight lines going on and it triggers a bit of perfectionism in me, that it eventually puts me in a box and one wrong move and I get frustrated a lot. There's too much details and you have to pay a lot of attention to each of them, otherwise it will look like shit. Unlike landscapes, they are more like free-form kinda thing, that even mistakes won't be too noticeable.

This painting that I'm currently working on involves everything that I don't really like dealing with: inside a building, with lots of straight lines, focuses on perspective and reflection.

Haha. I don't know why, but I felt like challenging myself and it's also because I really wanted to paint a hallway because to me, hallways are meaningful.

Anyway, the photo you see above is the first layer of the painting that I'm currently working on. I don't usually use grids in painting cos I wanted to exercise my eyes for them to get used to drawing without the use of guides. This time though, I used grid lines to guide me, and a meter stick to ensure the lines are straight.

The first strokes, there was instant regret of why I was underestimating it. It was harder than I thought. I had to ask myself many times why I even started doing it.

Those are the wonders of painting and even though I get challenged every now and then, I never regret the path that I chose. Making art is fun!

Sort:  

goosebumps! 😳

Haha glad to know you can feel something while looking at the painting! :D

I'm loving this Pauline!!!!! Just the way I was thinking it's gonna be.
My soul is feeding real good right now!:D
You truly are an exceptional one! <3

Thank you!! I expected this to be a chilling painting and I do my best to bring out the emotions that it should bring. :D

It's really pushing the right buttons! Well at least for me. :)

It looks so real that I almost feel I can step in there, I can’t imagine how more real it will look after it’s finished.

Yay! Thank you! :D

Excellent painting! You have to overcome your fears Haha. I can't wait to see the end result! What is he holding in his hand? (an umbrella?)

Supposedly a wheelchair! Haha I have to figure out how to draw it properly too lol. Thank you!!

Very cool. I once tried to paint a multicolor soap bubble and their reflections.... totally went in a wrong direction... epic fail 😅... cool piece you made though! ❤️❤️❤️

Haha yeah those are pretty challenging, especially a multi-colored one! Thankyou!

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I really like this first undercoat ! I find it interesting (and important!) that you say you don't like the elements indoors, it's even more a good exercise !

I went back to the drawing I hadn't practiced for a very long time and it's a bit hard ... at the beginning ^^

It's funny, but I came back to your post just after I published mine and it must have hit my unconscious or something because I also started to do some "reflections exercise" :-)

Hope to see the rest !

Making art is fun and I love new challenges. Whenever I try a new technique or paint something that I haven`t done before, I get that dreadful feeling and question my ability to finish the project. But I push through cause art is my therapy. ;0)

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Glad you appreciate it even when it's not done yet!! :D