Joining Our Kids On The Night Shift

in OCD4 years ago

qqeu8g.jpg

Summer is winding down and the kids will be prepping for virtual schooling next week. You wouldn't see any signs of the impending change in their daily behavior.

Both our 12 and 14 year old boys are on what we call the Night Shift!

They sleep all morning only to awake sometime in the afternoon. For the most part, the kids stayed off the Night Shift this summer. When the pattern started to emerge, they were able to pull out of the nose dive.

Perhaps it's because deep down they know school is coming, but they're full force on the Night Shift now.

An Odd Hour Inconvenience

2i0jln.jpg

Once I'm up, had some coffee, and am wide awake, the Night Shift doesn't bother much. Waking in the middle of the night to the sound of footsteps pounding upstairs or blasting YouTube videos gets old real fast.

Another place the Night Shift creates conflict is my silent morning time. You see, the kids sleep in the morning but they're not asleep in the morning. When I get up at 5, 6, or 7 (depending on my schedule), our youngest gets right in my face.

He tries to tell jokes or show me (what he thinks are funny) videos. It probably looks quite precious from an outsiders view but it drives me crazy! This morning I got little Logan to admit that he doesn't like being woken up that way. So cut it out, I told him.

JOB Puts A Damper On My HIVE Life & Brings Me To The Night Shift

It's very much a possibility that HIVE one day replaces the income my real world job brings in. A post a day (at least) is my goal to arrive at that juncture.

For the time being, I have to punch a time clock to collect that bi-weekly pay check. It's days (or rather nights) like these that make me wish HIVE was my breadwinner already.

For tonight, I get to make the 2.5 hour drive to our dastardly desert job. It's too hot out there to pour concrete under the sun, so all the work goes down in the early morning hours.

nksndk.jpg

I'll be up at 11:00 - 11:30 PM and out the door by 12:30 AM, cup of coffee in hand. On the job for 4 to 5 hours with a 2.5 hour return trip makes it about a ten hour day (night).

Don't let me forget to stock up on energy drinks before I leave, cause finding a store out there is a lost cause.

Though thankful for the work, it's a dangerous drive home when the fatigue settles in. I really don't care for it. Another bummer is that the job throws me off my regular sleep pattern.

At least the kids should be in dream land by the time I get home. One silent hour in the morning is a definite possibility and something to look forward to.

Whether it happens or not, you won't find me on HIVE until tomorrow night at the earliest. Running the Night Shift takes all the spunk out of me for the following day.

Thanks for reading and as always...

jek876.png

l9i3rg.png

Images Courtesy Of Pixabay.com
Bottom Image Courtesy Of Hive.io Brand Assets
Want To Join The HIVE Community? Use My Referral Link To HiveOnboard.com

kplypy.gif

Sort:  

I’m staying up late to post and engage with folks on here too! Burning the midnight oil lol

Nice. Maybe I'll see you if I get bored on the job site. 😁