How to Make Armor Guide

in OCD4 years ago

Hello to all online art lovers and those who put on an armor no matter how heavy it is, ^ _ ^

Armaduras - Ingles.png

In my country it is still quarantined to prevent infections, and it is very difficult for me to go to my sister to use the internet, but a friend who lives near my house offered to lend me the internet from her phone, from time to time. When to share everything I was doing during the whole time I was away, which is practically 4 guides on fantastic creatures and an illustration, and other more work that I have not finished yet, this time of social isolation without internees slowed me down, I have lost some motivation, the good thing is that I am already recovering it, and becoming more active ^ _ ^

The theme of this drawing guide is about clothing closely related to fantasy, they are about armor, which is one of the favorite topics of many digital and traditional artists as well, but if they are in the world of video game development where their designs are more abundant and extravagant, the drawings of characters with armor will always be the most striking, and recreating them is an art, which requires great sensitivity to design them.

Pencil sketch of my guide

P1120414.JPG

Separadores para Web-03.png

Armor is a set of metal pieces developed from the same mechanics as the human body, in order to protect it in battle.

Parts of the armor


Armaduras-1.png

The armor must cover the body of its wearer, to ensure its life and protect the integrity of its body during combat.

Designing an armor: The plackart

Armaduras-2.gif

The piece in charge of protecting the torso is known as "plackart" and is the most recommended to start drawing armor, since it covers the entire chest and abdomen, in addition to being where the gardbrace and the tuille are integrated (responsible for thigh protection) the designs that can be made are very varied, it is recommended to define the areas that this will cover with an initial sketch.

The coat of mail


Armaduras-3.gif

the coat of mail is a metallic tunic made of small iron rings, which goes under the armor.

Armaduras-4.gif

To be able to do it, you have to visualize it as interlocking circles like a chain, which follows the contour of the body.


Armaduras-5.png

Drawing the chain mail can be very demanding, even more so when the entire armor only reveals few parts of it and could only be appreciated when drawing at angles very close to the character, that is why it is simplified with ovals when drawing at smaller scale.

The gardbrace


Armaduras-6.gif

They are a set of metal plates, which allow movement by folding inward on themselves, and are attached to the breastplate with leather straps.

The gauntlet


Armaduras-7.gif

For the protection of the hands, the gauntlet is a more robust version of the hand drawing structure, it begins by drawing the hand alone and then the mechanical structure is coupled, based on geometric shapes.

The arms


Armaduras-8.gif

The protection of the arms costs 5 pieces that work according to the mechanics of the movement of this, in the Couters you must leave a large space for your mobility.

The legs


Armaduras-9.gif

The same principle is applied to the legs as to the protection of the arms. The entire metallic assembly must react to the same movement of the leg, a free space must be left at the back of the knee to facilitate its movement.

The sallet (helmet)

To develop a helmet or sallet, you should always take into account the structure of the skull, so you can find the correct size and a better idea of its thickness, the first thing is to trace the head, to define and mark which are the areas to protect.


Armaduras-10.png

This is the most customizable piece of all armor, and there are many models of this.


Armaduras-11.gif


Armaduras-12.gif


Armaduras-13.gif

Those that allow total protection on the face must give excellent vision and ventilation.


Armaduras-14.gif


Armaduras-15.gif


Armaduras-16.gif

It is recommended to use frightening elements such as horns, designs that allude to a beast, or sinister skulls since the main objective of an armor helmet in addition to protecting the head of its wearer is to intimidate enemies.


Armaduras-17.gif

Also each helmet must show the race, the time and the rank of its wearer, attachments and details on the helmet denote a high rank.


Armaduras-18.gif

An armor full of battle history must show bumps, cracks and dents, drawing small lines in strategic places achieves the wear effect.

Also keep in mind, the styling and detailing of the trusses is an important part of the style, although the original trims can serve as a reference, sometimes an update process is necessary to make a design more attractive, as fashion as times change.

Technical information:

Digital vector drawing
Program used Adobe Illustrator CC 2015
Full resolution 4724 x 3602px at 300dpi

Thank you very much for reading my post

I hope you liked my Guide and that it is very useful for you
See you in a future publication

Inu-Jim

Inu-Jim LOGO.png

Copyright @inu-jim –Allrightsreserved

Spanish version

Armaduras.png

Sort:  

I have several questions :

  • Which software do you use to digitized the sketch?
  • How long did it take you to draw one?
  • Did you use a drawing tablet?

Great questions ^ _ ^
A1 = the software you use is adobe illustrator cc
A2 = I do not have the timed time but it is relative to the complexity of the drawing, between 10 and 15 minutes the simple ones the most detailed for over 30 minutes
A3 = I do not have a drawing tablet, although you may not believe it I do everything with the mouse of my computer

Thank you for taking the time to reply my curiosity. And yes, I couldn't believe you drew that using a mouse ! you're awesome.

I dont know about him, but I dont belive it. This is too good to be done by a mouse. This tutorial is what I need right now and i am gonna use this as a guide for my armor paintings.

If I use the mouse to do all this, the mouse gives me more precision in the drawing of the line with this program, also with my current state I do not have to buy a drawing tablet so I have no other he he ^ _ ^

👋 Hi @inu-jim, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

wow a new community on creativity and drawing, I will gladly join ^ _ ^
rest assured that our paths will cross again

The value of high-quality military equipment in a fight can't be overstated. It could save the lives of a lot of soldiers and make military operations run more smoothly if the uniforms they wore were of the best quality. There was a lot more attention on army uniforms after the start of the crisis in Ukraine. I looked into a lot of companies that sell military-style clothes. So level 3 body armor were on my list of things to look for on the internet. I found a great source there.