How to Make Wings Guide

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hello to all online art lovers and those who want to see their characters fly through the skies, ^ _ ^


Alas - Ingles.png

This is strange and at the same time funny, I have wanted to make illustrations for more than a month, but since I am doing the most explanatory guides (my priority for being my work and for the commitment to my students), I am also touching topics very interesting in them, I'm not having time to start illustrating, in other words I'm not having time to draw because I'm drawing, is this a paradox? in short I am missing about 14 guides to give them a break and continue with other creations with color ^ _ ^

The theme of this guide is the wings, one of the favorite resources of all the cartoonists, I think it is due to the dream of the human being to have wings to fly like birds, the wings are an element that is always in our imagination , either in an illustration or in a cartoon, in the world of drawing we will sooner or later encounter them, either to draw birds, dragons, angels, cherubs, demons, or any other hybrid character that possesses them, but to perform them correctly It is necessary to know how they are structured and how they work.

Pencil sketch of my guide


P1120395.JPG


Separadores para Web-01.png

The Wing structure

The operation of the wings is an extremely complex work. In Theory the wings are the arms of the birds, when analyzing their structure especially the bone, the similarities can be appreciated.


Alas-1.gif

They have the same components but in different proportions.

The Feathers


Alas-2.gif

For practical reasons when drawing the pens these are never detailed, only their outline is drawn, like a very elongated letter U. All feathers should be drawn superimposed on the wing.

The location of the feathers


Alas-3.gif

The feathers are those that form the majority of the wing, so the structure is divided into 3 parts, the first part is the muscle of the wing, where the smallest feathers will be, and in the other the large feathers responsible for the flight.

Feathers Classification


Alas-4.png

Retracted wings


Alas-5.gif

When retracting in its entirety, its structure is mainly an oval, the feathers tend to function as a fan, these when closed all are grouped together forming a lump in the same direction, the primary feathers are the only ones that can be seen.

Wings in Flight

The flight of the wings consists of a constant cycle of opening, climbing, extending and fanning, which can be summarized in four key movements.


Alas-6.gif

The first step is when the wings begin to roll up.


Alas-7.gif

The second step is already fully extended vertically.


Alas-8.gif

The third step the wings start the flutter, going down extended to be in a horizontal position, it is this position the flight is planned, it is also the most frequent wings position to draw.


Alas-9.gif

In the fourth step the wings reach the bottom below the body, completing a fan, another way to draw this movement is to visualize them in the sketch like a cone when forming its structure.


Alas-10.gif

The entire fluttering cycle in full flight.

Miniature Wings

Small or miniature wings tend to have a unique aesthetic and functional value, they are an extreme simplification of a wing, in search of a tender and adorable appearance.


Alas-11.gif

They are made only using primary pens as a structure, and some cover pens can be added.

Bat wings


Alas-12.gif

In the wings of bats it can be seen directly that they are arms and hands turned into wings.


Alas-13.gif

It is a hand of 4 fingers, 3 of them extremely long joined with a thin membrane of skin that reaches the body, the thumb is unchanged and the forearm is lengthened considerably.


Alas-14.gif

Its base structure is composed only of triangles, which make them considerably easy to draw, these are used to draw demons, gargoyles, or any winged being of darkness or malicious nature, and of course to draw dragons.

Technical information:

Digital vector drawing
Program used Adobe Illustrator CC 2015
Full resolution 4724 x 3602px at 300dpi


Alas-15.png

Spanish version


Alas.png

Thank you very much for reading my post

I hope you liked my Guide and find it very useful
See you in an upcoming publication

Inu-Jim

Inu-Jim LOGO.png

Copyright @inu-jim –Allrightsreserved

Sort:  

Honestly this is very nice!

Excellent tutorial, friend @inu-jim

I love your work, it is very artistic and well done

Congratulations, you deserve many votes and recognition

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

My name is Jesus Christ and I do not condone this spamming in my name. Your spam is really fucking annoying @hiroyamagishi aka @overall-servant aka @olaf123 and your spam-bot army. This is not what my father, God, created the universe for. You must stop spamming immediately or I will make sure that you go to hell.

If anybody wants to support my eternal battling of these relentless religion spammers, please consider upvoting this comment or delegating to @the-real-jesus

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Your spam is really fucking annoying @hiroyamagishi aka @overall-servant aka @olaf123 and your spam-bot army. You spam everybody, we ask you to stop, you refuse to, We downvote you, you downvote us. This is not what Jesus would do with his Steem account.

Hello @alexvanaken, I am not spamming as everyone does not like spam, in fact I am a person who only publishes 1 or 2 times a week, if you say it because I publish 2 posts in a row, I assure you that this was only one occasion Special for trying to help someone, this was done another day but it will be days before I can access a computer with internet access again. Sorry if it causes any misunderstanding.

Hey there. My comment was replying to the spammer @olaf123, not you (: sorry about any confusion

lol XD the one who got confused was me I am that I should apologize
You're right, those bots of @hiroyamagishi aka @ overall-servant aka @ olaf123 are very annoying.

It is ok, no worries. You are for sure going to heaven so nothing to worry about (: