You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reading Lessons with my Grade Schooler Niece #Episode 2

in OCD3 years ago

I agree. I just don't rely on words that rhyme. I make sure that they understand the sound of the letters and how to combine it with the next letters. It's actually confusing specially there are words that if you just combine the letter sounds you would surely misread the word like for example "hid" and "hide". I know she'll learn more along the way I just have to improve her vocabulary and explain to her patiently the rules so she would remember. It's so difficult to teach honestly but I have to because I'm afraid she'll get behind her learning if she wouldn't at least something during this pandemic.

Sort:  

It doesn't help that the English language doesn't always follow the same rules.