Buh, Bye Steem - That's it finally all out - Powered-down and done

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I've been powering down since Hive was stood up and yesterday marked my final powerdown cycle.
bannersbuhbye.png

It's with mixed emotions that I transfer my final Steem out and over to Hive. I think I was like everyone else, a while back, thinking I would cross-post and keep some Steem alive. Capitalize on the best of both worlds. My thoughts on that started to go a bit sideways as people, some that I knew and had worked with, started to get censored.

These were people that had worked their ass off to build up Steem and its ecosystem; make it stronger, add value, add to the community, move it forward. To be shit on by Steemit Inc., a centralized organization, in such an obvious and targeted manner was shameful. Steemit Inc. piled on the shame as they bought witnesses to shill enthusiasm for the Steem blockchain and to toe-the-line.

Punting Steem

My feelings and resolve were further solidified with the deleting of content and then the audacious Steemit Inc. hard fork 0.23 - "New Steem". Poof, stollen. 6 Million dollars worth of hard-earned and bought Steem, gone from those accounts. What a day, one to mark in the history books for sure. Steemit Inc. steals $6 Million only to have a white knight redirected the stollen funds to an account that they no longer have access to. Oh, to have been a fly on the wall.

I still hope that something can be resolved and that they will be able to recover their Steem (and convert it to Hive) and be able to continue on.

Onward Ho!

Yes, and no. Back to those mixed feelings. I keep flip-flopping between wanting Steem to just die off, and just being ambivalent to it being around. It's really telling that the demographics have shifted, shilling Steem is a profit making venture and it's a free for all. Many of the trending posts have very little to do with Steem other than how to get profits out of Steem. Community, creativity, long-term investment, and ecosystem seem to have vaporized. It's almost comical going through the trending and the new posts.

I'm there

Ok, I say Steem can kiss my ass. I think I'm there now. Even just writing this has moved the needle a bit more. There's no reason that it should survive and thrive. It's centralized, all the top witnesses are either bought or run buy Steemit Inc. The ninja mined stake is being used to censor posts that are not in line with the Steemit Inc. philosophy.

So, Steemit Inc. and Steem can...

pogmothoin.png

I'm building on Hive. Moved the Foodie Hive-Engine token over as well as the whole community and loving it here. It's a solid platform to move business forward on and the ecosystem behind the scene is rocking! This is what Steem should have been.

It's time to leave Steem behind (other than the stollen funds - those funds should go back the rightful owners.) I've purged all my Steem posts to point to Hive. I'm moving forward on Hive. I'm building on Hive. It's time to Sun-set Steem <- see what I did there. :-)

Let me know what your plans are for your Steem account if you have one.

As always, stay safe, stay healthy.

allthebestart.png



Join me on Hive

create hive blockchain account

Don't have a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! Join the fun.


images:pixabay,youtube

Sort:  

I got 95% powered down, too, on Steemit... ;)
Ciao ciao Tron Boy :P

I also fought with myself for a long time and did not want to just give up steem.
But time has shown that there are no more positive forces behind steem.
In 2 days my power down will be finished too.

Well done! I also finished my powerdowns today.
All strength to you wherever the future leads you!

Loading...