Aloe Vera Propagation and Repotting

in OCD4 years ago

As a Work From Home employee for 2 months, we were asked to file a mandatory 5 days vacation leave to let us rest and rejuvenate before we get back to our respective sites. I started my 5 days mandatory vacation leave on Tuesday, but I wasn’t really expecting to experience the purpose of that mandatory leave. And indeed, I was right.

Last Tuesday and Wednesday, I was still in a work mode because my phone was still busy and I was still asked to do this and that. I wasn’t also feeling well as I feel more stressed. I can’t wait to finally work on-site and get things to be back to normal.

But today, finally… I was able to have the vacation leave feels even if I’m just at home because I was able to do the things that I want to do. I am happy to have a productive day today! I was finally able to take care of my aloe vera plants after I planned to repot it even before the quarantine has started.

I am an aloe vera plant lover. I started to plant aloe vera 3 years ago after I saw an article about this plant being good in healing skin blemishes, as a face moisturizer and for keeping a shiny hair. I remembered that I was asking my students way back to give me some aloe vera, so that’s why I got to have more aloe vera plants 3 years ago. But when I got busy with my new work, I forgot to take care of my plants so they died and that made me so sad.

However, last year, I decided to plant aloe vera again. This time, I made sure that they’ll grow and would have lots of babies. I bought 8 small aloe vera plants for 300 pesos (6 USD). I can’t rely on my students anymore to give me aloe vera plants because I have resigned as a teacher, so I have to buy for myself. 😁

And now, look at my babies! I am really happy as I’ve seen them propagating. Whenever I visit and sprinkled some water to them, I would talk to my plants and ask them to grow beautifully and never die. LOL

The reason why it took me months to repot this plant is because we don’t have much soil in our area. I tried to ask my nephew and young neighbors 2 months ago to get some soil for my plants in exchange for money. They have given me 2 pails of soil and refused to get more after that because they find it difficult to dig for soils. So, instead of repotting one aloe vera per pot, I just planted more baby aloe vera in a single pot.

Then last Tuesday, thankfully, when I asked my brother to get some soil for me to continue repotting, he granted my request. He got some soil from a vacant area outside our compound because I can’t dig for soil inside the compound.

I am on the mood a while ago to do the repotting, so I get the things that I needed and started to arrange the plants in front of me.

I carefully dug and removed the mother aloe vera from the soil and some of its pups or babies had followed. I slowly separated the pups from the mother because I planned on putting them on a separate pot.


While I was busy doing my thing, my nephew approached me and asked questions like “What am I doing”, “Why did I plant those aloe vera” and “Why I kept on removing the plants then replanting it again.” I don’t if I got too sweaty because of planting or because of answering his repeating questions. He was also cleaning my mess without my supervision, so I didn’t mind answering all his questions. 😆

When I was repotting all the big aloe vera, I realized that my extra pots are not enough. So, what I did is I planted more babies in one pot. I will just transfer them individually to a different container once I can buy pots in the market.

One thing that I noticed from planting aloe vera is that they are not picky with soil. I really thought that they would die because the soil that my nephew and young neighbors gave me was more like limestone. I don’t know if limestones are good on plants, but since my aloe vera has grown well, I guess it’s a good soil.

I was very happy and fulfilled when I saw my repotted plants. They have grown so fast too! I am excited to repot it after few months. I’ll make sure that I’ll buy enough pots for my babies. 😊



banner.jpg

We are also inviting you to subscribe to Hive PH which is a community that supports Filipino authors worldwide. Don't forget to follow Hive PH trail on hive.vote as well. Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our Hive PH discord channel