You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LAGOS WASTELAND RUMMAGERS; TORN BETWEEN CRIME AND SCAVENGING TO SURVIVE! My Findings

in OCD4 years ago

@oluwoleolaide According to the National Bureau of Statistics in Nigeria, "The National Poverty rate currently stands at 40.09 per cent, representing 82.9 million persons and this excludes Borno State"

I don't know how to describe poverty in Nigeria, Where majority of the population live below 1$ a day. I so much have respect for these guys that pick metals and plastics around just because they don't want to commit crime. Although some will do this during the day and still commit crime at night. The country is in a mess. The country's population sits around 200 million and 82.9million people are in Poverty, that's too bad and I seriously don't know what the Government is doing, they keep on bringing up Programmes that are not sustainable.

Sort:  

Thanks for the stats and data, I have a feeling of the inaccuracy of their poverty rate data,I'm strongly convinced that 89+Million out of 200Million population is way too small maybe to fit political agenda purposes. But I hope we can do our parts using Blockchain with its immense opportunities.

You are right, I think so about the published poverty data too. We can just do our part and contribute to the reduction of the poverty rate in our land.
Thank you