My introduction to the Hive community, hello this is Julia 👽

in OCD4 years ago

Hello Hivey friends, my name is Julia K. Ponsford and I'm here to introduce myself once again to the HIve community!

I joined steem in June of 2017 with the goal of posting my art and music and once I started to understand the platform I broadened my goals to be able to curate and encourage the art community as much as possible :)

What am I doing on HIVE?

Things have been a bit whack for the last little while but now that we are settling in I intent on continuing with all my projects here full force!

ART EXPLOSION CONTEST

I started the art explosion contest about a month or two after I joined steem and the last round was #83! That's something I'm really proud of, I have been able to spark some creativity with the prompts and also distribute some prize rewards :) I have been on hiatus for the last month but art explosion 84 will begin again tomorrow 🙌

Curation Initiatives

I am involved in a few curation projects and try to use those to the best of my ability to support the artists and musicians I love!

  • I curate daily with the @minnowsupport account and do a weekly art round-up with @msp-curation
  • I curate for @OCD which focusses on exceptional posts with lower payout
  • I have just started curating with @c-squared as well!

Alien Art Hive

One of my absolute favorite developments has been the communities feature and the place I have been spending a lot of my time is Alien Art Hive. We currently have 287 subscribers and it makes me so happy to see all the posts coming in every day :D (for more details see the footer, discord, twitter etc.)

My art and music projects

I guess this is the meat of the post, who am I?

black_milk_crop.png

I would call myself a multi-disciplinary artist and don't really like to put boundaries on my style. I'm always ready to experiment and try something new and maybe make some ugly awful things in the pursuit of expression. I also moderate in multiple discords, PALNET being the main one, doing my best to help out newbies and keep up a spirit of community :)

Collages

I have recently been on a collage spree, here are a few of my faves!

gates_of_final.jpg

strawberry_dreams.jpg

floral_hips2.jpg

I tokenize these and sell them as 1/1 Rare pieces of Art on SuperRare: https://superrare.co/juliakponsford


Music

I currently don't have music on any streaming sites, I was hosting everything on Choon and unfortunately they went down! I do have some music videos which is another thing I like to do as it is a mix of many mediums and can really bring the music to life!

Voodoo Salt

Electric Eyes

Gold spills from her lips

Supra Programming: collab with @vachemorte

Peep the playlist here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLLw_Eqjne3mcYcgSiq6Ac-oUKIl5FxxfM

FILM

Last but not least I made a low budget film with @vachemorte called: THE JUJU GUM CONSPIRACY which we are releasing exclusively on HIVE for all the Quarantined people! It's available to view HERE!

Screen Shot 20160908 at 1.48.09 PM.png

>>>>>>>>>>>>>₳ⱠłɆ₦ ⱧØ₦ɆɎ<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Join the Alien Art Hive community and come get some Alien Honey!

ALIEN DISCORD

To follow on twitter, personal account, Alien Community account <3

Sort:  

The holy goddess returned 😍

Music, art, film, so much talent, so envious of you🙃

Nice to see all of your awesome art in one post here
You're my favorite alien ❤️

Great intro or should I say reintroduction! Thanks for all your curating it’s an important task to keep good content creators around.

I'm so happy to see you on Hive. I follow you since a couple of years and I like to read this "introduce myself" full of energy and art. ❤️

Yes me too I am so happy to see all of the people I love to follow are moving over <3

Wow! A great collection of super work there!

Lovely introduction/ overview post!

Thanks, I suppose it was time to to do an overview post so this initiative was a nice push :)

Shared on twitter:

@tipu curate :)

Thanks rozku :)

Hi Julia - awesome art, and great to see you on Hive

image.png


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Incredible artwork! Welcome! :)

Hello,Julia,good to see that you also wrote your post.I am still working on mine.As I already know you I don't know what to say.Anyway best wishes for you.

Hi Julia!

Glad to see you and your art here. Another legendary Steemian on HIVE!!have a good one!

Impressive art! It's lovely to meet you! Instant follow.

First Class Legend of the chain! You brighten this strange creepy crypto world with even stranger creepier creations and we will always love you for it. Ive reblogged this so I can watch your music videos at some point.... how have I never seen those?
ALSO for anyone reading this comment who has not watched the JUJU GUM CONSPIRACY - for the sake of yourselves, please follow julias link and ingest it as quickly as you possibly can so theres more time for ingesting it AGAIN and AGAIN

also superrare looks really cool. How do you make the artwork provably scarce though?

@juliakponsford

Wow es un hermoso trabajo, es una excelente síntesis de tu vida en la blockchain, es maravilloso poder conocer un poco mas de ti, gracias por esta buena presentación, me animó a hacer la mía... Ya veremos si lo logro.
Te mando un fuerte abrazo desde venezuela.
Wow is a beautiful work, is an excellent synthesis of your life in the blockchain, is wonderful to know a little more about you, thanks for this good presentation, encouraged me to do mine ... We'll see if I can make it. I send you a big hug from Venezuela.

Wow awesome artwork, really quite interesting

Oh, good, @juliakponsford you are here as well. Having decided to return to Steemit yesterday thinking, 'Maybe a bit of normal in this surreal world' and everything turned around on Steemit too, so here I am. I'm kind of excited having this new 'steemit' and to get back into the swing of the New Normal, I might have to hop on one of your fun Art Explosion contests. They, back when I first joined Steemit, were really important in my joining in and falling in love with the platform. It's like a 'do over'...I wonder if our outside world is getting ready for a 'do over'? Let's hope it will be a peaceful changeover in the physical world.

Are you okay in your bit of the world?

Hehe yes it's really weird that this whole steem/hive drama happened right when so much else was going on but I think it is a nice step forward! Happy to see you over here too! Things are a bit weird here but as someone who barely leaves the house it's almost business as usual for me, just trying to stay busy and creative as best I can. How are things where you are?