How I Celebrated my 26th Birthday (A Post Birthday Appreciation Post)

in OCD3 years ago

For my 26th birthday, I felt so much gratitude despite the seemingly never-ending pandemic that I had to write my thoughts down. And so I made this post.

26th Birthday.png

Failed Birthday Plan

Even if we're still in the pandemic, I still wanted to have a little bit of fun for my birthday.

My friends and I planned to book a hotel to celebrate my birthday. I was touched because my brother and sister-in-law offered to pay for our room. We were so into planning. I wanted the room to be filled with balloons sticking to the room's ceiling. We'd all be in silk PJs drinking wine, learning doing make-up, talk about personal budgeting. We'd dress up for a buffet dinner.


dc4d1ce9c3a867c631e7435378f0e6ce.jpg

Expectation (Photo from weheartit.com)

IMG_20210125_214520.jpg

Reality


But COVID-19 is still here. I was reminded as cases were going up again in Cebu City (PH). I had to be extra careful because we have a baby in the house. So even if it was a bummer, I called off all the plans. Then, to make matters official, the city government has banned hotel room parties. There goes our failed plan.

Simple Home Celebration

ezgif.comgifmaker.gif

Of all the worst things that happened during the pandemic, what is one more lowkey family birthday gathering to compromise for our health and safety, right?

I woke up early to read messages from my sweet friends who remembered my birthday. What's special this year is that I celebrate my birthday with a new family member -- my niece!

IMG_20210125_204034.jpg

A cake from my brother's mother-in law, a cake from my officemates, and J.Co donuts from Faith, my close college friend

As do all babies, my niece brings joy to the household. I'm grateful for turning 1 year older in my beloved hometown Cebu with family.

IMG_20210125_203825.jpg

IMG_20210125_204244.jpg

IMG_20210125_204011_1.jpg

Unexpected Gifts

I'm so thankful to my workmates from Manila who sent me a cake at my house thru a food delivery rider. I was so touched I sent them boxes of pizza with soft drinks at the office for merienda! Turns out they had no idea about the cake lol. I was told that only our senior paid for the cake. He gave Christmas gifts to all teammates at the office, none for those working at home (I'm one of those). It served as a Christmas and birthday gift! Thank you, Kuya! (I should've just ordered 1 box of pizza for you. LOL just kidding).

IMG_20210125_214219.jpg

IMG_20210125_124012.jpg

There's our favorite pizza we used to order everytime during overtime.

I also got a lot of sweet treats from my friends who are also my clients! How sweet of you both. Thank you 😍

Most exciting of all, I gave 2 of my clients their late Christmas gifts together with their insurance policy booklets. I got to admit, the gift was quite pricey but I was happy (happier than stressed communicating with the seller) arranging for those to be made. When I gave one personally to a close friend and my first client at that, I was so happy to see her face light up! Thank you, sis 😍

A thank you gift to the first client who trusted me when I was just starting out

Happy client, happy agent!

There's more coming for the rest of my beloved clients!

Celebrating With Friends

Buffet 101

The day before my birthday, I stuffed a lot of food with 2 of my closest high school friends in a buffet dinner. What's funny is that it wasn't planned! It was a week earlier than initially planned. But when one of us asked the others if they're free to meet, everyone was on the go. This is what I love about this group -- everyone is always ready!

IMG60c96a50ba6ff0d89a972673a5b93a22V.jpg

IMGa24d2b6f2871df2a6a25d15f2b08128eV.jpg

We wanted to eat at Fat Dois -- a restaurant with a lot of cheese on its menu. But the queue was so long and we were already hungry. Since a buffet restaurant was nearby, we just went for it.

IMG3735b677306164c75528ae83746556e8V.jpg

We did not leave the restaurant till their closing time at 9 PM because we had to breakeven with the expense (PHP 800+). Lol Asians. We had a good time exploring the long line of food trays. Going at them slowly but surely 😂

Circa 1900: Cicada Tapas & Bar

I also had lunch with my closest friends in college in an ancestral-house-turned-restaurant. These were the friends I planned to celebrate in the hotel with 😅 From a hotel party, we downgraded to a short lunch session with vintage-themed outfits.

IMG_20210130_125734.jpg

IMG_20210130_125242.jpg

IMG_20210130_125446.jpg

IMG_20210130_125548.jpg

I've been wanting to visit this place for a while already. Maybe because it's not accessible by the main road, I kept on postponing it. But now, I had the chance to visit Circa 1900. If you want a vintage yet modern feel of a restaurant, head on to Lahug, Cebu City especially for Hivers living around the area.

IMG_20210130_130013.jpg

IMG_20210130_130251.jpg

IMG_20210130_130214.jpg

I loved the aura of the place. I have always been fascinated by the past, most especially the 80s. So I was really in love with the place. However, the food was quite expensive for me. There were a few complaints from us about the taste. The plates were too small, rice kept overspilling (lol). Then, there was a separate percentage for the service charge. For 6 people, I paid almost PHP 4,000. That price is better off with another buffet lunch 😆

But it doesn't matter, I enjoyed our short time there. And I love the overall ambiance of the place.

IMG_20210130_141507.jpg

IMG_20210130_141608.jpg

IMG_20210130_141812.jpg

IMG_20210130_141943.jpg


And that's how I celebrated my 26th Birthday!

Omg I'm already in my mid-twenties 😲

Sometimes I get overwhelmed just by thinking about it. I mean, I'm far from what I imagined life to be. I've heard stories about young ones buying properties for investments. But here I am, still figuring out how to augment my income.

Like most of us, the pandemic has affected my job. Fortunately, I'm safe working from home. But that meant working for a half-day -- I receive half my salary.

But I'm grateful because it pushed me to find other sources of income. I'm not yet a highly-paid freelance writer, but I'm way past the stage of praying I get hired in Upwork just to write a 3000-word article for $5. Way past that now, thankfully. I'm also grateful that it pushed me to what I really wanted to challenge myself with -- becoming a financial consultant. It's not a lot, but I'm amazed that some people trusted me to protect their family and their income.

This may not sound right to others, but I'm just being grateful for what I have. If not for the pandemic, I wouldn't have introduced myself here in Hive, and opened up 2 more income streams.

This year, my wish is to reach my freedom goal. For me, that's earning PHP 100,000 per month. In our country and for typical people my age, that's very ambitious. I don't how I'll achieve that but I'll keep trying. Because the alternative -- being comfortable with job "security" -- is even scarier.

Here's to all of us working hard to achieve our dreams.

Here's to the not-so-young ones in their 20s. Life isn't a race. Let's keep on experimenting until we discover our purpose.

May all our birthday wishes be granted this year.

20210130_122835.jpg

🎂 END 🎂

 


In the cyberspace, Kaycee Ports is a freelance writer who does blog writing, SEO copywriting, and web content for bloggers, entrepreneurs, website designers, and authors. In the mundane world, Kaycee Ports is a licensed chemical engineer practicing her degree in the field of environmental science. She is based in Manila, Philippines as an industrial hygienist. But the strong Bisaya accent still shows at times. In an alternate universe, she believes she's a Beyoncé.
Feel free to follow her if your interests are on personal development, travel and literary arts!
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Shared to Twitter:

Congratulations @kayceeports2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day
 3 years ago  

Happy Birthday sis! Stay pretty! Wait. Ang aesthetics ba, gondo! 🤩🤩🤩 Unsay imong filter?

Thank you, tiyaaa! Si April ra ana jud, nag tweak2x ra daw sha sa Lightroom settings. Iba talaga hahaha

 3 years ago  

Iba din. Ganahan ko sa effects. Magpatudlo nalang ko April. 😂

Happy birthday, I love how you made good use of your day. It may not be as you once planned it but it is one joyful celebration with friends and family.

Your post have been curated by @jizzyjoe, as Hive Celebrates With You on Your Birthday. You can join our curation trail here to celebrate with other hivans on their birthday. To know more please check our Introduction post.

Thank you for the warm greetings! I agree, it was simple but still filled with gratitude :)

You are welcome, I enjoyed every bit of the post

Happy Birthday! You definitely had a good one that you were able to celebrate with your family and friends. Anyway, may you continue to be blessed! Stay safe always

Thank you! Yes, I'm still grateful to turn 1 year older with friends and family. Thanks so much for dropping by and taking the time to read this. Keep safe and more blessings to you too!

Niceee, looks like you still managed to enjoy your big day to the fullest :) Happy birthday! Oh and don´t worry about the age too much, mid twenties is still much better than mid thirties (sigh :D)

@tipu curate 2

Thank you for the bday greeting, @phortun! How can we stop aging? lol just kidding. Gotta make the most out of every life stage 💪