Afro-Retro; Portraits birthed by spontaneity, created under 10 minutes

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I rarely engage in creating photos spontaneously, except I'm working on a documentary, or doing candid photography.

About 90% of the photos I create are thoroughly planned or premeditated; whether it's for 1 week or few hours. I must sit down to analyze the location for the shoot, the props needed, the gear I need, etc. This post reflects to one time I didn't have to consider any necessary factor before creating the photos I'll be sharing in this post.

Here are the photos;


How did I create those portraits?

So I said I created those photos without due consideration of several factors needed to create a photograph. Well, here's how it happened.

Earlier this year, February precisely, I was shooting at a wedding. A traditional marriage[African thing] to be precise. The event was quite a small one with minimal amount of guests. So it was possible to see everyone present that day.


While shooting the guests at the wedding, I saw a lady beautiful dressed in a style that isn't so common at weddings. She was carrying an afro hairstyle which was the first thing that attracted me to her. The urge to shoot her sprung up immediately, and I walked up to her and told her my intentions. She obliged and in no time, we were outside shooting. .

Because of the event going on, I didn't have time to choose which lens to shoot with or setup my light. I was using a Nikon D750 and I had a Nikon 85mm f1.8G lens attached to it. There was no time to even discuss posing. Luckily, the girl could pose quite good[although she said she wasn't a model]. I adjusted my camera settings and took some shots.

The photos came out quite good, but I had to do a lot of color tweaking to make them look better.

Check out the original photos and exif data;

IMG_20200506_160044.jpg


Few days ago, I talked about how I'm deliberate about color grading the photos I create. I was very deliberate on this one. I wanted to create a certain retro/alté vibe with the image. I had to leave some warm tones because of her skin and the outfit. I managed to balance everything, and I loved the results.

What do you think about the photos?

Sort:  

Promo link;

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @nonsowrites and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thank you very much.

Nice to see that good informative post is valued accordingly :)

Yea. Sometimes posting without getting reactions can be frustrating. Lately, I've been getting good traction. So I think my work is valued

The whole point of art is to get reactions. If you do not get it then your work is probably boring...

True that.