After ample time spent on exploring several earth tone variations, I created moody blue portraits.

in OCD4 years ago

Color grading is a huge adventure for me. I love how I'm able to explore different things and come up with something good. Sometimes when I talk about how easy it is for me to develop color grading styles and patterns, it feels like I'm making a boast. On the contrary, I'm just excited about how the fantasies in my head become reality.

Whenever I share about photography and colorgrading in particular, earth tones, or warm brown tones are always included in the conversation. But now that I've discovered moody blues, I think I'll talking about it often. Or maybe not though.

After I worked on the colors, I applied it on some other photos and it didn't come out well. Then I discovered, just as the name of the style implied, it only looked better on photos with blue as the dominant color. Such was the case of these portraits of Amaka.

I already shared one of the earth tone variants. But what do you think about moody blues?

PSX_20200614_225817.jpg

PSX_20200614_225620.jpg

PSX_20200614_230112.jpg

Without having to look too much, you'll be able to spot the faded blue shadows in the photos. This aligns properly with her outfit and the accessory[bag].

The blue tones are inspiring me to create more photos where they'll perform excellently.

I created those portraits spontaneously using only natural light. I used a Nikon D750 camera, and an 85mm lens at f1.8. I colorgraded the photo using my favourite photo editor ie Lightroom Mobile.

In other news, I'm excited to announce that I'll be dropping episode 2 of Colorgrade like Blacc today!. The time it has taken to release a second episode was quite deliberate. I feel no one's watching or using the information I'm sharing.

Yesterday, I read a comment from @k-banti that made me realise that people might actually be watching. But if they aren't, I'm excited that at least one person is. So expect a new episode today.

In my next tutorial, I'll showing an teaching how I got earth tones on this photograph;

PSX_20200525_232816.jpg

See you later!

20200614_152935_0000.png

Hi! My name's Kodeblacc. I abandoned my college degree in Physics to pursue a career in photography. I've been doing photography commercially for barely 2 years now. The brand would fare better with your support.

If you fancy keeping up with me, you can follow me on these social media platforms; Facebook, Instagram, Twitter. I'll follow you right back!

Sort:  

Definitely Bro! You just have to keep doing what you do. You can't tell who's watching. So just keep the ball rolling. I'm glad you considered releasing the second episode because of me. I really appreciate it. Thanks :D