You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The quality of you

in OCD3 years ago

Thanks for posting this info, it's very interesting to hear the post-event scenario. While I know everyone's experience is different, it's somehow encouraging to hear more after stories. I'm at risk, more so in the past year when the high blood pressure started spiking more, and heart rate higher than normal (now on beta-blocker too). It was difficult for me to get on the meds, I tried for a year to avoid them to no avail. Now of course, I always wonder, what if I forget the meds? In fact, recently did forget them on a short 3 day trip, and each day wondering will the next exertion trigger something? I suppose I'll get more used to it over time, but still there in the back of my head. Your words are encouraging, get well soon!

Sort:  

it's very interesting to hear the post-event scenario.

I am a mild case in comparison to many, but I think we don't hear that much from the serious cases. It is not an altogether terrible experience to reflect on this part of life and while I don't think anyone should aim for ill-health, if it happens it is best to stay pretty positive and work toward improvement. It is a long road ahead for me and I hope I can progress well, as I don't want to be this useless for another 40 years.

and each day wondering will the next exertion trigger something?

It is a terrible feeling isn't it? I have a friend who was here last night and heart attacks run heavily in his family and he constantly thinks the same. We were discussing if there is a treatment for the thinking about it, something that can help remove the fear of the future.

Well there is treatment, the best being some good hypnotherapy imho.. having much success with it on others in my past life. While I certainly apply some of the same concepts and training to myself, it's not quite the same as a few guided sessions. I'm able to bring mine down to small enough and short enough thoughts that it hasn't required any additional, but certainly recommend it for others if struggling.