Sort:  

It's so difficult...Was just talking to one of my brothers in Europe who got some great government assistance, then the next person doesn't and they struggle. It's the same here. Faith and I have reduced incomes but have no government assistance, don't qualify for it. We froze our home loan though. Had no choice.

I agree, let's hope normal comes back soon, however I'm afraid it may not...For quite some time. Are you working at all?

It’s similar here. There is a cut off point for financial assistance, so there can be a £1 earning difference between getting help and not. Everybody that is employed gets 80% of their wage, up to £2500 gbp per month. The self employed deal sounds the same, but isn’t really. As we both own companies, We only end up with 30% of my earnings between the 2 of us. However, at this studio the government have paid 6 months rent upfront for us, and they have made it illegal to evict anybody for missing rent payments. I have also been offered an interest free loan with zero payments for 1 year if we need it. So i do think that the government really have done as much as they can in helping as many people possible. Although I have no doubt they can’t help everybody, and some will really struggle.

It sounds quite similar to here actually.

I'll admit that I think our government has done a reasonable job here. Sure, they will be judged with hindsight and I'm sure with clarity of vision on the whole picture they will be criticized but in the heat of the moment I think they did ok. Time will tell.

We have many now starting to complain that there extra money will stop and they won't be able to afford to live...I mean people who were on unemployment benefits already, long-term unemployed...They had their payments doubled...Makes no sense as they never lost in one in the first place...Now they are whinging that their payments will drop back. Idiots.