You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beleaguered and Confused

in OCD4 years ago

Oh @fionasfavourites, I know exactly how you feel as I go from feeling positive and then feeling full of despair and confusion!
The virus is getting closer, my cousin and her daugher and son in law who live in East London have it, but they're all doing ok.
The government really is not playing fair, or shall I say NDZ is not, as she apparently has the final say under the Disaster Management Act and can override the president, just crazy!
I really feel for the wine producers and those in tourism & leisure!
One little light at the end of the tunnel is that the insurance companies have decided to do a once-off payment for business interruption so we will at least get some sort of compensation, but I believe the larger hotels are still taking them to court as they lost much more and obviously want bigger compensation.
I'll only believe it though once we're given an agreement of loss form!
Let's keep our chins up and enjoy the little pleasures like your Sat morning market etc.
Take care Fiona!

Sort:  

Oh Lizelle, I hope your cousins are all ok. My friend is in PE and because I was at school in EL, know folk from there, too. I worry about my Eastern Cape peeps.

I was so glad to hear the developments on the insurance front. Payouts will make a huge difference even if they don't solve the problem.

You know, it took me more than a week to actually write all of this. Partly because of feeling so flat, but also because it's so hard to find the bright side. And when one does, one almost feels guilty because of what other people are going through.

Stay well!

Posted using Dapplr