Why Nobody Is Reading Your Posts On Hive!

in OCD4 years ago

First of all, it's not like people are flooding in to read my posts.

Not even a single person reads 3 out of 7 posts that I publish in a week. And that's how I know why people don't read many posts on hive.

Untitled drawing 43.png

Source: Pixabay

Many people are new here so they don't know what to do whereas many people do a bunch of wrong things and that reduces their readership.

Sometimes, it feels like there are no more opportunity on this platform. There is no value for content published.

It's not true. There is always opportunity. We just need to make some change so that the readership increases.

Things that reduces the readership of your posts are:


Untitled drawing 39.png


When you write something half baked or half hearted, nobody is interested to read it.

It took me quite a long time to realise that people will trust your words when you are an authority in that subject.

Nobody wants life advice from you unless you are Tony Robbins.

Nobody wants financial advice from you unless you are Warren Buffett.

If you are a nobody, people will ignore what you say.

If you are somebody, an authority on a subject, people will pay you when you share your knowledge with them.

It's as simple as that.

For example, I don't know anything about travel blogging. So just for the sake of producing content on hive, I start writing about it, my writing will suck.

It will be difficult to read because I don't have experience or knowledge about travel blogging.

No one wants to do difficult things, everyone avoids doing difficult things.

As a result, people will avoid reading my posts.

So, it's better to write about things we know or we have some experience.


Untitled drawing 40.png


Believe it or not but hive is a relationship based platform.

Most people will only read your post if they know you or if you create extremely good content. Or you are a whale.

You need some kind of leverage to attract people on your profile.

Sometimes random people do pop up on your posts to comment. But they don't stay for long enough.

Your regular readers are those who know you. With whom you have interacted a lot either on hive or discord.

The more you interact with people, the more people will be interested to know what you are sharing here.

Also, if you are unknown, no matter how good you write, most people will ignore your content.

The key is to build relationship with as many people as you can. Not just for the sake of votes or comments, but to build a community.


Untitled drawing 41.png


When I read my first few articles from 2017, I cringe about the way I used to write.

But over time, I have improved a lot. At least, if I compare myself with when I started to write 3 years back.

The thing is, you will not know where you lack or what you are good at. Only the feedback of your content will tell you about that.

And nobody wants to be told that they are not good enough.

I notice it a lot of times. When someone advice people--where they can improve, they don’t listen.

On the contrary, they complain about it and give excuses why it can not happen.

I am not going to lie but I am guilty of doing this too. When someone shares with me where I can improve, my first reaction is to complain about it.

Only some time later will I think about it. About how I can work on myself to improve in that area.

Well, improvement isn't easy. But it does happen through practise.


Untitled drawing 38.png


It all comes down to practise. The key here is to practise as much we can daily and to improve little bit every day.

Because the more we practise something, the more we will improve in it.

Like Bruce Lee said that he doesn't fear a man who has practised 10,000 different kicks but the man who has practised one kick 10,000 times.

The more you do something, the better you get at it.

However, the problem is everyone is too busy finding quick and easy ways to succeed. Easy hacks. Tips. Tricks.

Nobody wants to invest time to learn something. Everyone hates the good old way of learning with time.

We want to know tricks that will bring massive results in a minimum amount of time. Though it works on some things, if you want to learn a skill, it's better to put more time in learning.

We are all looking for the secret to success.

And over time I have realised that there is no secret at all.

The only thing that works is practise. The more we do it, the better we become.

Untitled drawing 42.png

Source: Pixabay.

So, we should practise a lot and focus on little improvements daily.

And it will bring the desired results.


What do you think?


Sort:  

I totally agree with you. In fact, yesterday I wrote about this subject because it is something that worries new people a lot, voting, being read, knowing that they are doing well, etc.

That's really nice.

Good article, solid advice ... consistency is the key to all of this as well ... all the things you said, day after day, week after week, month after month ... it does pay off, after while!

Yepp, it definitely pays.

I didn't realise it before. But now I know, the biggest thing that pays rewards is consistency.

This is a good article. As a beginner all of the advice here resonates with me. One more advice that can help is to read a lot of posts here in hive. And read them critically, read those top post as well as those from my fellow beginners. Analyze what makes them different.

Yepp, reading a lot makes huge difference.

I read a lot of posts on hive, medium, quora, reddit....it helps me to understand what works and what doesn't.

yeah, talking about what you love, fills you and you work on is the best way, that's why the best content creators are passionated people, we could find them on different areas but they all share three things in common: mission vision and values.

Yepp, mission, vision and values add up to great content.

Personally, if I am writing something that I love, it becomes too easy to write about. And I enjoy the process too.

Thanks for sharing such interesting ideas 😍😍😍

Thanks for reading and commenting bro.


Congratulations @looftee!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I certainly liked the way you wrote this article. You were to the point, connecting well and you actually put across your message.

Must Read✊️

Thanks a lot for enjoying my article.

I just compiled a couple of things people miss...

Valid points here but one thing to stress, especially for newer accounts is those accounts need to go out there and get themselves out there with as many accounts as they can, in good constructive ways. If you drop into someones post and say "nice post, thanks" that doesn't do a damn thing. If you give someone a meaningful comment that proves you read what they wrote, and do that with lots of posts, you will build a relationship.

It is sad that many people don't get any comments on their posts. People just upvote it and keep going in search of curation rewards. That's the reality for some but it's not successful or sustainable. I would often not get a single comment on my posts either, even ones I put a lot of effort into. I've been getting more lately thankfully but only because I think I've connected with a lot of new people.

In my outreach activities I've been doing, I try to iterate this to people. Whether or not they actually do it is another thing but I've seen several of the newer people I started talking to and following getting out there and doing it so we have some wins there!

that's really nice of you.

From what you shared, I feel that you are making substantial progress in your readership because you connected with more people.

I try to do that too to the best of my ability.

Thanks a lot for reading my post bro.

There has been a great increase in people reading my posts which is great! I don't post that often or have content that draws that many people to check it out on their own so I've had to, and really enjoy it anyways, go out there and connect with lots of people which then grows my reader base with my own methods.

Keep up the posting my friend! You will get there, especially now that you have 2k Hive Power. You can start earning curation rewards which is great!

I don't know much about curation or anything. I just wanted to have some skin in the game. So that I keep posting consistently.

My main reason to post here is because I have freedom to post anything at all.

Like one day I can post about finance, the next about productivity, and the next about hive.

Whatever I feel about.

Also, community is great here. I have met some of the best people in my life through steemit and hive.

If it wasn't for the community and freedom to post anything at all, I would be on medium or hubpages or something like that.

Good to connect with you too.

What a good subject you have dealt with. It has opened my eyes a lot in many ways and I have seen where I should improve. I liked the idea of ​​working based on time and that is the reality. Rome was not done in a day and if we want good results we must work hard day after day to do things better. Thank you for sharing your experience and opinion.

A nice clear post with clear takeaway points for success.
Well done.

Thanks a lot for reading my post.