From Chemical Engineer to Hiver: My Journey Begins

in OCD3 months ago
Authored by @Lueita

Hello, Hivers!

Hey, everyone!
My name is Peace Obienyi Oluebube, but you can call me Lue.
I'm Nigerian and I also recently just raduated from Obafemi Awolowo University with a degree in chemical engineering.

first picture.png

While in school, I picked up some other skills like writing, UI/UX design, and blockchain development. I've always been passionate about exploring life outside the classroom and finding ways to make an impact.

The Post-Grad Struggle

After graduation, it wasn't easy to find roles that suited my diverse skillset. Truth is, there were so many fresh graduates, just like me, competing for the few available opportunities. I knew I had to find another way to survive and thrive.

I signed up for the mandatory one-year national youth service corps program and was assigned to a company. That's where a colleague noticed my love for writing and interest in blockchain. He introduced me to Hive, although he wasn't on the platform himself. He mentioned knowing someone who had been writing on Hive for years.

Right After Discovering Hive

I didn't waste any time signing up for Hive. Can you blame me? I was very excited.
However, my initial excitement fizzled out pretty quickly because Hive was kind of hard to navigate at first. I didn't know where to start, had no one to guide me, and couldn't get enough resources to make my first post.

untitled.gif

So, I let my account sit idle while I searched the internet for more information on how to proceed. YouTube had little to no helpful videos beyond just signing up.

Finally, after what felt like forever, I stumbled upon @ryzeonline's incredibly detailed guide on getting started with Hive. It was a long read, but absolutely worth it. I even bookmarked the post to reference whenever I need it.

It was only after going through that guide that I felt ready to finally introduce myself here.

The Fun Stuff

Now that I'm here, hi again. I'm so excited to connect with all of you! A few of my hobbies and interests include;

  • Traveling
  • Writing
  • Reading novels
  • Watching movies (foreign and local)
  • Volunteering
  • Enterpreunial endeavors
  • Meeting new people
  • Designing and building software solutions

I would love to teach, learn, unlearn, and relearn as many times as possible – and I want to do it alongside every single one of you.

I promise to be a law-abiding member of the Hive ecosystem, supporting the posts of those who put in their time, ingenuity, and effort into writing. I'll do my part to help make Hive an even better place.

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to engaging with you all!

XOXO😘

second picture.png

For Beginners Like Me

Are there any beginner tips I should be aware of as a new Hiver? What advice would you give someone just starting out? I'd greatly appreciate any guidance!

Sort:  

Welcome to the Ladies of Hive, @lueita !
You can pursue whatever hobby you can think of in this amazing environment where you are. You set the limit!
It takes some getting used to, read, and pay attention. And ask questions as you go along.
I hope you have a great stay!
Hello from America.

Hey sweetie. You look so beautiful.

It is amazing how you explore different things, we will be glad to see you share your ideas with us.

I understand the struggle to navigate hive but trust me you will enjoy it here 🤭. I will advice you to join the newbie initiative although, the application is closed but you can join the next batch.

As a hiver. It is important you know some certain rules, so you won’t be punished. If you are confused about anything, just ask. Anyone will be willing to help you.

I’m glad I stumbled upon your post. If you have anything question, feel free to ask me 🌷

Plus. Congratulations on being a graduate.

Your face is so fresh. Mind sharing? 🙈

Hi @lizizoo, I really appreciate your feedback and will keep an eye out for the newbie initiative, for when it returns.
I've followed you and i'll definitely be in touch if something confuses me.
Thank you.😘

As for the skincare routine, It's nothing really special, genetics I guess.

Welcome to Hive 👋🏼
I hope you grow in the future on hive 🙂

Welcome good lady, I'm happy to see that you found Hive and that you are skilled in blockchain tech.

I suggest writing posts around 500 words or more, and putting several photos of your own, which might fit in with the subject of your post.

And aim to write and publish daily, every 24 hours. That's the optimum amount.

And engage with other posts, network, socialize.

Power up as much Hive as possible for now. The more you have, the more you will be taken seriously by the big Hive account holders who have big votes to give you.

The price of Hive, like all cryptocurrency, will continue to climb for the next 12-18 months. It will then peak and begin to decline for the following 2 years, and then pump again for two years. It's a 4 year cycle built around bitcoin's halving every 4 years.

Wishing you all the best from the south coast of Africa.

Welcome to the best web3 network ever. Have fun around here!

Congratulations @lueita! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2024

Welcome to the Hive community @lueita!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, Keychain, Peaklock, and Hivesigner,
  3. The master password and the owner key are only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your password or keys; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. DO NOT OPEN any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hiveans available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Hello! Welcome to Hive, @lueita. I found you thanks to @heyhaveyamet 's introduction post.
You've come to a wonderful place where you can develop any interest you can think of. The limit is up to you!
The learning curve is steep at first, but ask any questions you have, read and observe.
You can find me most of the time in
Ecency's Discord server, my favourite frontend, or in The Terminal’s one.
Greetings from Spain. 🤗

Welcome to Hive @lueita, is great to see profesional people like you join to the Hive ecosystem, that is Wonderful! I like to read this in your introduction post:

While in school, I picked up some other skills like writing, UI/UX design, and blockchain development. I've always been passionate about exploring life outside the classroom and finding ways to make an impact.

Blockchain is taking more spaces in internet and Hive is one of them!

Blessings from Heaven.

Welcome to the community. All I can share is engage more to the people here in Hive.😊

Impressive

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @lueita and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (14/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Welcome to Hive @lueita We're glad to have you aboard!
You will feel right at home since have many Nigerian members all over the various communities on Hive and especially in the #ladiesofhive community. I will look forward to see you participating in some of our Writing initiatives.
Wishing you Success.

Welcome to Hive, and, here are some tips that I put in my fifth book to help Hivers that I'm onboarding! The Big Four things that you need to avoid on Hive, and a focused plan to build and grow on here may be of help to you!

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1kDtJEI7zSBbim5iA5PuLLXYvZbQ28wXm/edit?usp=sharing&ouid=103150249722998815212&rtpof=true&sd=true

You might also want to check out the Hive Onboarding Committee -- the community account is @hive-193566, and the person to talk with is @bitcoinman!

Hello, @lueita! Welcome to Hive Blockchain! You have a beautiful smile. :) For the beginner, you can start telling stories about your daily life on Daily Blog Community, also Hive Book Club Community; Worldmappin Community for your travel stories.

Then, you can explore more communities that are suitable for your content and supported by OCD HERE

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

I'm @anggreklestari from the @OCD team.
Have a great day!