You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why wouldn't someone join Hive?

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Don't you find it interesting that on Hive, we pay each other? You should, because this is the future of ownership and consumption - a far more direct relationship between supplier and consumer with far less middlemen. This is not the normal order of business on other platforms as while consumers pay, the platform distributed.

Not really. We have various degrees of power to direct inflation where we want but the almost all of the value of those tokens comes from altcoin speculation. Those 200 million liquid HIVE on exchanges are being traded back and forth by people trying to increase their Bitcoin position. The same goes for any alt. The rate "high" of inflation on Hive is meaningless compared to the insane price swings mostly driven by Bitcoin over a long time frame.

As a content creator on Hive, I feel like the smartest man on Earth because I get to impose a tax on that speculative activity. There are billions of social media users at least 10% create content that is just as good, in my estimation, most of whom would be too scared to join Hive whatever idiotic reason among those mentioned by @tarazkp.

My reaction to that:

Sort:  

You don't find it interesting? Or you don't think having a direct relationship between consumer and contributor is valuable?

There are billions of social media users at least 10% create content that is just as good, in my estimation, most of whom would be too scared to join Hive whatever idiotic reason among those mentioned by @tarazkp.

I am not sure about this sentence, so will ask for clarification :)

I do find it interesting that we have such power over each other's rewards.

But I wonder if the rewards are too conspicuous on many front ends for the reason you mentioned. PeakD does not show dollar values but the Hive Token Unit value, which is an approximation of the dollar value a post is worth in total followed by a symbol that is not the dollar sign. That's definitely a step to the right direction. I wonder if people would be less comfortable if you had to click something or hover the mouse pointer above something to see the rewards.

Speaking of the quality of my content, there are millions of extremely prolific content creators of Quora, for instance, who put out quality answers all the time. I'm in a Facebook group for Finnish hobby photographers and many of them publish stuff as good as the best on Photography Lovers here.

But I wonder if the rewards are too conspicuous on many front ends for the reason you mentioned.

Yes, I think so. I was going to put it here, but I think it deserves a separate post. I think it would be interesting to even put the payout behind an extra click and use some other measure for "approval rating"

Speaking of the quality of my content, there are millions of extremely prolific content creators of Quora, for instance, who put out quality answers all the time. I'm in a Facebook group for Finnish hobby photographers and many of them publish stuff as good as the best on Photography Lovers here.

Yes, and some might even earn on it but, they don't earn publicly. It creates a different dynamic in a culture that says "don't talk about earnings"

Yes, and some might even earn on it but, they don't earn publicly. It creates a different dynamic in a culture that says "don't talk about earnings"

Quora pays only a few of those who ask questions and no one who only answers them.

I think the culture of conspicuous earnings should be reconsidered if this place is to become more novice friendly. Never underestimate the power of envy.

Never underestimate the power of envy.

I think this is a topic that is often avoided here. "You're just jealous" is likely one of the big issues between accounts as people compare rewards and perhaps content for current posts, but not the history and consistency.