My Quarantine story

in OCD4 years ago

This post serves as my entry to the @thecallmedan 's quarantine story initiative. I live in Nigeria, so my story is basically being developed from the current situation in Nigeria and the world at large.

IMG_20190711_124215.jpg

Right from birth till now, I have not seen or witnessed what is going on now in the whole world. It saddens my heart seeing how people are complaining here and there about this pandemic (Corona virus also known as covid-19).

Though when I heard about it at it's early stage, I wasn't really afraid because I thought the disease would be tamed in a little while just like Ebola virus and Lassa fever. However, it turned the other way round.

HOW IT HAS AFFECTED ME

IMG_20190717_131017.jpg

This quarantine period has really affected me positively and negatively.

This quarantine period has given me time to develop myself, it has made me learn new things about braiding of hair, baking cakes, chin- chin and peanuts. It has made me sit down and try to improve my writing skills.

It has also made me bond with my family members, friends and loved ones.

It has made me call each of them to check up on them and to know how they are fairing especially in this difficult situation.

Before now, everyone is always busy going to their different place of work, businesses, school and hustling for money in order to fend and carter for themselves, families and loved ones; all man for himself without even calling or checking up on others to see and know how they are fairing.

Some might want to do so but because of their tight schedules, they can't do all of those. Presently, all those things have changed, people now call each other to know the present situation in their states, country, localities and villages of which to me I think is a good thing to do.

People no more think about luxury, cars, money, houses, mansions and other good things they have. All that matters to them now is life, they have come to understand that life is all that matters.

Some who are wealthy now seek after the well-being of their neighbors and friends even their family members. No one feels too big or like he or she has it all in life, all they do is wanting to know about the well-being of others and seeing how he or she can be of help in one little way or the other.

This quarantine period has also affected me negatively because I may not be able to finish my school program at the stipulated year I would have.

This period has stopped school activities, programmes, businesses, churches, ceremonies and lots more. People are now stuck at home and locked down, there is minimized movements.

Moreso, it has made my parents stay at home without going out to their different businesses which has resulted to lack of finance to take care of me and my siblings. I guess not only me, this has also affected other people.

HAS ANYONE CLOSE TO ME BEEN AFFECTED?

IMG_20190315_114348.jpg

So far so good, no one close to me has been affected with the virus. But here in Akwa Ibom State there are five confirmed cases of this virus and my earnest prayer is that God should come to our rescue, I pray God should keep and guide us and also take away this virus so that everyone will be free and our usual activities can go back to normal.

HOW THE WORLD IS RIGHT NOW

The world is in total despair, worried, troubled and afraid at the moment. The news is everywhere you go, in newspapers, television and radio. Death toll keeps increasing all over the world.

I hope and believe all this will be over soon 🙏
Meanwhile, stay safe, wash your hands with soap and running water, use sanitizer and wear face masks.

#StaySafe

MYXJ_20191021092046_fast.jpg