Let's Support Dapplr and Allow Another Mobile Frontend Into the Fray

in OCD4 years ago

Dapplr.jpg

If you haven't seen yet, the @dapplr team is developing a mobile Dapp for Hive that's shaping up really nicely. You can see some previews of it over on their account page.

What I like

  • Visually it's looking really nice. The feed view or as they're calling it, your "Home" screen feels a bit like Instagram/Appics which I think will be a plus for onboarding new users, especially young people as that's what they're into.

But once you go into the post, we'll still have support for longer format content as well.

C3TZR1g81UNapwcuMu2eVqMAWvHXhrRrPF8gHr9W4J5eA3Hh9oW6D8oAavSWdKXD7ah222xwHj2Zk9G77KLS14Gy5MC7zG9Z4gEucnbfLMMP1z7PDRrM9Ee.jpg

Not only that, but I'm sure you see what I see on this last image...yup, they're also integrating tips as well! Which would make them the ONLY mobile application for Hive that supports tipping. Of course this was one of the first morsels of feedback I gave them and a few updates later there it is. That's really good to see.

Screenshot_10.png

I think developers being responsive to their users is extremely valuable and when we come across people that are exhibiting the behavior we want repeated, we need to reward them.

@dapplr currently is seeking funding via a proposal on the HDF for 30 HBD a day for 145 days...

That's a total of 4357 HBD. People...c'mon...

They're only 38% of the way to receiving funding so they're going to need your help. Not only by supporting their proposal, but by also posting about it. We all need to help these guys get the word out so we can have another awesome dapp to play with. Also, if you don't pay attention to proposals or politics, but generally agree with my views on things, consider setting @theusersparty as your proxy, which is a proxy I control dedicated to supporting witnesses and proposals that are working to improve the user experience here on Hive.

Honestly when I see this I think we need better/additional tools for supporting projects. I feel like it would be easier to find 30 users that would send you 1 HBD per day for 145 days than to get a proposal across the finish line, and people should have that option in an automated way. Somebody working on that? Somebody should be working on that.

Anyway, go give em some support will ya? Vote on their proposal in the usual places

Sort:  

I voted for their proposal earlier. If we need better/additional tools for supporting projects, then I think, that should be one of the top priority for the devs to come up with something because that will drive our success.

Is there an actual app or site to test at this point or is it still in production? I saw their announcement/proposal and was sort of waiting to see more.

I know sometimes the idea of a closed source projects with no actual product yet can scare some away, so I’m just curious.

It looks really visually stunning and would love to support it as well and try my best to get others to see it, but I feel there are still quite a few unknowns. Maybe I’m just missing some of the information though?

No testing available yet as far as I know, and they said they would open source the code post release. I hear you on the low info part. Perhaps just some blunt communication with them might go a long way as in, "It would take "blank" for me to really get behind this project".

I saw things moving on the screen that looked like it was pulling data from the blockchain so that got me a bit more intrigued than just pretty pictures, so I'm cautiously optimistic.

Hi @justineh

Thanks for your feedback. If we may, what are the unknowns? We would love to clarify any doubts in the best way we can.

Stay tuned for the updates.

I’m a mobile app user 95% of the time, so this sounds like something I want to support. It looks and sounds promising @dapplr
Cheers for the heads up @midlet!

I think their ask for 30 HBD is very reasonable compared to asks for other projects. That seems more of a token of appreciation than covering all of their costs.

For some reason, and enough to mention it, prominently featuring a girl's ass on the front cover of a post supporting a business proposal request seems a little off-putting.

hi @steemmatt

It's about perspective. Beside that, We would love to put on the image assets of your choice. Send us the images on our blog.

Stay tuned for the updates...

"Allow" how do you stop someone who is determined? XD

Haha, okay, HELP.

Appics dead?

So far they're staying on Steem and not moving to Hive as far as I know.

Appics does not develop, it is terribly buggy and I start turning off tokens -

WE should support any project which will do any good for the reach to the masses.

If i'm not wrong peakd has tipping implemented on their UI. No?

But yes, i do agree we should support them. Have voted since the announcement

I will support it when something tangible on the way or usable. I am tired of projects without anything to show...