Introducing Myself: From a jail to a pasarela to take Pictures

in OCD4 years ago

Talking about oneself is a fiction, it is an exercise that is never objective, no one gets to know themselves totally, however, I will do my best to tell you who I am, telling you what I can define.

My name is Miguel Mederico, I am a 37 year old Venezuelan, zodiac sign Taurus, born on May 11 in Maracaibo, Zulia state. I honestly don't remember much about my childhood, so I presume it was good. I'm six feet tall, medium build, thick thinking. I currently work on my own as a photographer and video producer.

That´s me in a beach oh my country

My parents taught me by their example, and not by their trades or beliefs, that one should always help others. My late father was a colonel in my country's army and my mother has been teaching metaphysics all her life. They did not force me to follow in their footsteps, nor did they force any of my four brothers, I am the one in the middle, the only one who has this strange sensitivity to see the world differently.

I have always had a taste for creation. When I was in 5th grade, I showed that I could draw without resorting to classes, although I only did it for a couple of months. I also learned to play soccer since I was 7 years old and I have been doing it until today. Later I learned to play the piano alone following the logic of sound. That's how I started collecting trades and skills that I did in a self-taught way, but writing and playing football are the ones that I still do.

Ready for a fashion photography

When I was about to start university, my father recommended that I study chemistry or civil engineering, but I always had a fascination for justice and was very creative. I thought about being a publicist or a graphic designer. Just when I was about to choose one of the two careers recommended by my father, I knew that the profession of Social Communication was also available at the University of Santa María (Caracas), where five years later I would graduate as a journalist with a degree in audiovisual studies.

I had different jobs writing about other people's stories, telling the sad and frustrating lives of those who did not want to be in the newspapers, or transcribing about what some government institution was doing, saying only the nice things, writing to sell their obligations as something new, and I did not like that.

The good thing about all those jobs is that I always ended up with a camera in my hands, taking pictures, supplying the photographer, in extreme circumstances and that didn't correspond to me, but I didn't see that as a job, I liked that job.

Bracelets made by prisoners

I was in a flood in Higuerote (a city in the state of Miranda in Venezuela), with water up to my neck, I swam with one hand raised so that the camera wouldn't get wet and I photographed the rescues of people who lost everything.

Photo I took during the Higuerote floods

Sometime, I took pictures of landslides, food basket deliveries, walks, and everything that a city hall does. Then, at the end of my institutional career, I was inside prisons, next to dangerous criminals, taking pictures of very bad people, trying to make the image look nice.

Inside a prison taking pictures

It was never my full responsibility to do that job of taking pictures. I remember that before this social media fad, I would throw myself on the floor to take a picture of an ant, doing ropes to capture my distracted friends in a good picture. The astonishment of others was what gave me spectacular pleasure.

portraying a horse and its master

Along with all this history, I was always writing, I did it for my job and also when I bequeathed the muse. Mainly I wrote press releases and reports in my work, and poems and reflections for my writing harvest. Surprising people with my lyrics was also what kept me writing.

From my last job, where I was director of a state police press department, I was forced to leave for political reasons. It was there, after so many jobs I didn't like, that I decided to do something I liked. With the liquidation of that job, in June 2018, I bought a used camera and said I was going to devote myself to photography, but there was a problem: I was always the one who corrected designs, videos and photos, but I had no idea of the aspects needed to edit videos or take photos, I didn't master the camera or the editing programs.

After that, I was watching a lot of photo and video editing tutorials. After learning the basics, I dared to do my first modeling session, some contracts came in at parties, and little by little I got promoted in the photography area. Soon I saw that what I was doing was very common, I honestly hate to look like others and I usually contradict people.

A picture that I had a hard time taking

In that transition I met Steemit, Whaleshare, Bearshares and now Hive. In all of them I have been showing my writings, my photos and my videos. I have given workshops in photography and poetry for communities that come to life on these networks, published almost 80% of my oldest writings here and posted many texts that have emerged from this evolution that I am undergoing as a human being. I upload all my content here, because I have the idea that one day, all this will lead me to something bigger.

A urban sesion in San Antonio de Los Altos

It was not long ago, after much questioning, my own and others' prejudices, after meditating and overcoming social fear, that I started a new style of photography, it's about nude and semi-nude photography. It is truly a fascinating subject, it is something difficult to explain with words, it is also very difficult, it is a constant challenge in so many ways, I said, this is what I want to do. Currently I am looking for an identity to be recognized and distinguished.

This is my new style

Many things have happened in the world, in the physical world, in the crypto world, and therefore in mine. This that you read is only a part of me, it's a sample of who I am and what I enjoy doing on these kinds of platforms.

I went from being stuck in a sewer with the camera, to a prison with the camera, to a wedding with the camera, to take pictures of misses with the camera and now with the camera I take pictures of women who have been undressing for my thematic concept of the world without clothes.

It's a very difficult art but I'm passionate about

In short: I am the one who every day looks for a photo or a writing for the viewer to reflect on. I am the one who thinks of a strange way to draw attention to what is common. I am the one who tells the secrets of his trade so that others learn, improve and surpass themselves. I am someone who learned long ago that values and consciousness are not for sale and no one can or will buy what I think or feel.

This is me, incapable of lying, with so many poems written for no one and appreciated by all of you, and few poems dedicated to someone who left me in the company of no woman.

I continue and I will continue until this prospect of human being considers that he no longer wants his office to be anywhere in the world where he can press a key or a button that sounds like a click.

This initiative is from @Anomadsoul, the idea is to introduce or re-introduce yourself since this is a new chain

All the photos are my own.
Follow my work on Instagram @miguelmederico

Sort:  

excelente hermano usted es un cracks en esta area, gracias por permitirme hacer una ilustracion de esta fotografia increible saluods

saludos de vuelta, pronto veré el resultado de esa obra.

Excelente mi amigo Bello... Todo lo que haces lonhaces con Amor, Talento del bueno y con un estilo único e inigualable... Dios te bendiga grandemente 🙏😇😘😘😘

Amén, te deseo el doble de todo tu bonito anhelo. Un abrazo de vuelta

Nice to meet you. Love your art.

Thank u so much

Nive to meet you. Some of your photos I like. Good post 👍🏻💕

Thank you, nice to meet you too..