You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CLOSE ENCOUNTERS - Of the shark kind. MyPictureDay submission.

in OCD4 years ago

Just after I wrote this to you, my good lady walked into the room and we looked back together with regards to that day, and she remembers it the same as me, the instructors were very lazy, told us very little, made us jump in, then mine pulled me to the sea bed and motioned me to stay on a rock, as he went up towards my lady, I started to spin around with the current, this is when I panicked, and she says she panicked because she had never tried breathing below water, and they never gave us time to try. Plus we were weighted with lead weights around our waist. I released mine when I got to the surface so they had to dive to get them back.

Maybe one day I shall try again. :-) Never say never.

Sort:  

Sounds like a poor example of how it should be done, but sadly familiar, so often a discover scuba experience(DSD) is badly performed resulting in what should be future divers leaving to never try again. When we do a DSD it takes about 2 hours, starting with a briefing then shown how the equipment works, this is followed by a session in shallow water to get used to breathing and calm nerves, then if all parties are happy we then take you for a dive, anything less is bad practice. Do hope you give it another try some day, maybe when all this virus thing is done you could treat yourselves to a holiday in the Philippines and come learn with us. Stay safe dude

I love Asia, so that is possible, these cowboys in Turkey just take 25 quid, chuck you on a boat, throw you in, take you to the bottom and expect you to know how, the only thing they said was thumbs up means you want to go up, but with nobody to signal, not sure how that was supposed to work out?.

Well that's certainly not our approach to diving, we have a reputation to maintain as almost all our work comes from reviews and word of mouth, we have managed to maintain #1 on tripadvisor in Moalboal for a number of years now. Would be great to see you out here. Maybe get to see some of the big boys featured in my @mypictureday post. Stay safe fella