Reflections on Beaver Creek - MyPictureDay

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I was already heading down to Beaver Creek this morning to snap some reflection photos for the Deranged Photography Contest - then I saw an entry post for the MyPictureDay Challenge Round #2... Nice, two birds with one stone.

My son and I grabbed our boots and cameras, then headed down the valley for an adventure on beaver creek. Spring is one of the best times of the year to walk along the creek, the grass isn't too thick, and the bugs aren't too heavy.

It's a lot cooler down by the creek in the summer, I'm looking forward to all the greenery. When I stepped near the creek edge there was a rustling of water, a brick sized fish swam out into the creek - maybe a salmon or a catfish. I wasn't quick enough with the camera, but my son was excited to see it.

Just up ahead is the small Beaver Dam

Sorry, no beaver shots today, but I do have a quick video with the sweet sounds of the trickling waters of the beaver dam - YouTube Link. Just beyond the damn is the wetlands - they didn't flood this area deep enough for a suitable pond for a lodge.

This is my favorite reflection photo from the adventure - this one is from the flooded side, looking back at the dam. The beavers will have to flood this area a lot more if they want a pond that is deep enough to not freeze in.

There's still a little ice on the water, we had heavy snow a couple days ago. You can see the roof of my house at the top of the hills, through the trees - beaver creek runs down the valley.

The creek bends as it approaches the road...

This is my second favorite reflection photo of the morning - the one that I submitted I thought had more interesting trees and cheerful colors.

There's the shack beside beaver creek - not creepy at all. It's beside a telephone pole that's no longer connected to mains. There's no chimney, and it's locked up tight, I'm guessing it's an old storage shed.

On the other side of the road you can see where the beaver creek begins - the neighbor's pasture.

My son and I had fun on the MyPictureDay adventure, summer's on the way. All the above photos I took this morning with a PowerShot SX620 HS camera.

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the curation, it was a fun morning :)