Sponsoring First Day of Flores de Mayo

in OCDlast year

IMG_20230501_163802.jpg

Flores de Mayo is a Roman Catholic activity that happens once a year in the month of May. It's an activity where the children teach the word of God and the stories of him. After the teaching, the children gathered to pray, and at the same time praise Mother Mary through singing and flowers. Children were told to bring flowers as an offering.

IMG_20230501_164434.jpg

IMG_20230501_163658.jpg

This is a fun activity for the children. There's always food to give after this activity. The people who managed this activity are called Sisters but they are not actually Nun. They choose children and consult their parents if it's okay with them to sponsor for that certain day a food. Every day a child will be assigned food and then tomorrow a different one.

IMG_20230501_164206.jpg

IMG_20230501_164556.jpg

IMG_20230501_164231.jpg

This is a kind of Flores de Mayo I attended when I was young. However, when I moved to a different town, I noticed last year that children didn't receive food after the activity. They just went home right away and it made me sad because this is not how I experienced it. Fortunately, every morning when I opened the store, the first money that I received was separated. We intended the money for church activities, just like donations, even just a small amount, sometimes food.

IMG_20230501_163810.jpg

IMG_20230501_164231.jpg

Obviously, we managed to save money for the whole year whether it's a big amount or small in the first purchase in our store. We have enough money to give food to the children once. That's why when the people who managed the activity came to us and asked about food for the first day. We didn't hesitate to say Yes to it. It was yesterday, early in the morning when we bought food and juice in the store where we used to buy goods to sell in our store. Although, we can not give much of course. We just rely on the store for our resources every day. Also, we can not do it every day for the whole month. That's too much for us to handle the expenses of providing food for the children.

IMG_20230501_163754.jpg

IMG_20230501_163735.jpg

We only gave bread and juice to the children but we are still thinking if we can provide food some other time. We can only be sure of the last day of the month. However, since we heard the children said if there would be a next time. We'll try to give them but probably not tomorrow because we are still saving money for it. I can't rely on my hive earnings for now since I'm not as active as before. Even so, I hope we can earn even just a small amount to let these children smile again through this food.

IMG_20230501_165057.jpg

By the way this is not for fame or for popularity. I didn't post it any social media but in hive, you all know how different it is. Also, if someone might be interested in sponsoring it, why not. Even just a small amount we can make these children be happy. Please don't misunderstand, it's not for me but for these children.

Thank you for reading

All content is my own unless otherwise noted
If images are being recycled, I just found it fit in my article.

ABOUT ME

received_2460592767407624.jpeg

Paul is the name but prefers to be called mrnightmare that feels like living in the dream. A country boy and a dreamboy (dreamer) who likes to stay in a small village even though it means abandoning the future to become a seaman. The passion is writing but not sailing in the vast ocean. Don't wonder if the face will not be shown, this is better where the words can flow smoothly. Come, you can tell me your stories and I'll tell you mine. Together, let's explore the world by broadening our thoughts. If you need a shoulder I can lean you mine and I hope I can lean yours. The world is fun when living is not being alone but with someone.

You can find me here:

Medium
discord - mrnightmare89#2161
twitter
instagram

youtube

Sort:  

Hi @mrnightmare89, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON