You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to grow your own avocado plant from seeds

in OCD2 years ago

Even though it will take a lot of years to grow them into trees, unfortunately, this is how mother nature works.

Do you know how long it takes? I wanted to plant an avocado in our ranch, but heard it just takes for ever =/ wondering if it will bear any fruits during my lifetime \o\

Sort:  

I thought it wouldn't bear any fruit, but @trucklife-family says she did saw people who grow avocado fruit from their 7-year old trees. I do think it has something to do with the nature of the seeds that you're growing. I bet that biological, specific avocado seeds, or seeds from store-bought avocado's do make a difference. This is probably why you want to grow and plant more than one seed from the start, so you have a higher success rate. I'd do it for sure if I had a ranch myself!

Seven years sound pretty good, it's not like waiting for a lifetime \o
I'm gonna try to plant some seeds to see what happens

Nice! How cool would it be if you are still blogging on Hive in 7 years and post about harvesting avocado's from that tree!