Jumping Spiders: like little cats!

in OCD4 years ago


Jumping spiders are my favourite macro subject.

I think they are wonderfully charismatic.

DSC02066.jpg

Many people dislike spiders, some very few species can indeed be dangerous but the overwhelming majority are harmless to us. On the contrary, they reduce pest insect species off all kinds, we'd truly be inundated with insects that can harm us directly and indirectly by affecting the food supply.

Either through fortunate location or some strange happenstance there seems to be an abundance of these spiders this year. Or I've just internalized searching for them to an extent that they are very easy to spot. In any case, they're my favourite so I'll not be found complaining.

DSC02076.jpg
This particular spider has lost a limb, not a terribly uncommon injury but having a remaining 7 legs, it won't be slowed down at all. If the spider is young and has a few moults left before becoming an adult, legs can be regenerated.

Optimistically looking up!

DSC02060.jpg


I hope you've enjoyed the post! Click on any photo for a larger version to get a close up look!
Leave a comment or question if you have one!