You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some thoughts on @lovesniper and our upcoming onboarding program

in OCD3 years ago

Was wondering if it would be possible to expand on this idea of detecting newcomers and including accounts that have been silent for some time but suddenly reappear. Something like a Welcome Back Awareness Initiative for lack of a better name. Those people fall through the cracks often.

Sort:  

As someone who came back after 3 years, I agree

Had you not told me that just now, I'd still be thinking you're not around. It's nice to see you again!

I think it could be something the lovesniper bot could easily include but I know @rishi556 is extremely busy these days. I thought about it at first but I figured lovesniper would encourage them to post in communities when they do their next posts so the incubation would take care of them (at the same time I've been encouraging community leaders to invite more moderators and help to make sure no posts get missed) and for old members who happen to join maybe some people have been too lazy to clear their following and will notice when they get back. ^^ Also not to sound too harsh but as a bit of a personal preference I'd prefer focusing on new ones than those coming back now after :p

Fair enough. In the past I've suggested receiving a notification if someone on my following list returns after being gone for x amount of time. That was rejected as well. Don't worry. I'm used to it.

I'll just keep doing it the caveman way.