Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #861.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

What a great post, and I mean that sincerely. It's personal, passionate and has been put together with obvious effort. I really like this one, and the story you told too.

As someone who loves camping, off-roading and all things outdoors I love this post for other reasons. There's nothing like that feeling of the open road (dirt is better than bitumen) and the hum of the wheels, the click and clack of gravel being thrown up and some country music on the radio. (We free-camp a lot too, but with a camper trailer not an RV.)

I'm not religious, but hopefully jeanie is at peace. Death is a part of life, maybe just the beginning of another journey. Who knows?

My dad is in a nursing home with dementia and other serious illnesses. He doesn't recall who I am and at 84 he is taking a predictable path. I have not seen him since March as the scandemic has done similar things here in Australia as it has elsewhere. It's a difficult time and must have been hard for Tom, although caring for someone like that can take its toll also.

Anyway, great entry. Thanks for your support and good luck.

Thank you very much. You obviously get it and I'm happy one who does enjoyed my article.

I'm sorry to here about your father. I truly understand what you are going through and know it's hard in so many ways. I hope you get to see him soon.

I am not religious either and know regardless of what comes next or not, Jeanie's much better off. She lived a long life and touched many. Her memory lives on and is now immortalized through an immutable ledger.😀

Oh I get it alright...I feel sorry for people that spend only their vacations at resorts, around the pool...We do that too, but we camp so much as well...I guess it's a balance right?

I'm looking forward to the second instalment.

Thanks for your thoughts re: my dad. I'm pragmatic though, and we're as ready as we can be. Maybe like Tom was I guess.

The Boy version of Thelma & Louise 😆 Always curious why it's called the Badlands?

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @artemislives) - join our community here.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

It's weird how we depend on electronic maps these days. Getting lost is an art! And you should be able to use at Atlas, it's an old skill that I dont reckon many people can use these days.

I didn't realise it was the tapping of this aquifier that led to the end of the Dust Bowl days. Must have been such a boon.

What a lovely picture of Jeannie - and a lovely obit to remember her by.

Turn by turn navigation is great when you're alone, but I agree, unnecessary when there's a copilot. I grew up with maps, so can use them, but they still don't show all the roads, so finding them out of the way one lane roads can be hard with them.