Visit To The LA Maritime Museum: Part 1

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

What a Gorgeous Day

We've been walking down to the LA Harbor daily for over a year now. We always pass by the Los Angeles Maritime Museum on our way to the promenade, but we've never actually gone in. The city is doing a lot of construction work down here and are apparently going to be closing the museum for 2 years starting very soon.

Disclaimer: Visit happened before Covid Outbreak

20190419_133945.jpg

No Time Like the Present

We had been saying for a long time that we were going to have a look inside, and thought today was as good a day as any. It turned out to be a pretty cool find! With some photos I took with my aging phone camera, I'll take you all on a mini tour of some of cool items they had set up around the building.

I have decided to split this visit up into several posts as I've been told that my travel posts can get a bit out of control. So I'll see if I can make it manageable! This first post is going to be a tour around the outside of the building.

After all, what's inside of the building is really just a history of what is just outside of it.

20190419_133922.jpg

The ornate cannon in the above two images is located behind the museum. I could not believe that I had never seen it before, having walked by it so many times. Just behind the cannon sits a boat which I think may be a tour boat, but I not sure. I have seen advertisements for tours but I'm not sure if they are referring to this one or not.

20190419_134001.jpg

20190419_134549.jpg

The view from back here is pretty much a closer view of that which I sort of get from my apartment balcony. In fact, if you are high enough up, you can see this from just about anywhere in San Pedro.

20190419_134036.jpg

Lots of cranes and shipping containers. When I first moved to this part of LA, I thought it was the ugliest 'ocean view' possible. After some time, I have really come to appreciate it. I could certainly do without the smog, but the view is not so bad once you get used to it.

20190419_132224.jpg

Time to Go Inside!

After meandering around the outside of the building for a while, it was time to have a look inside. We headed back to the front where I took a quick photo before going inside.

20190419_135136.jpg

That's it for this one. See, not too long eh? Check back for part two, where I'll show you some of the interesting items on display inside of the museum. Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I like your pics. That's a really cool one with a lions face and something in its mouth.
Thanks for sharing, buddy

Thanks Robert! I'm about to post some more shortly.

Those cannons are pretty awesome. I wonder if they were functional at one time or if they were just made to be decorative. It seems like a lot of work to put into something if you just needed them to blow stuff up!

Good point. It's hard to say, though. I have thought the same thing looking at old armor in museums that people used to wear. Some of the elaborate decorations. I guess it's sort of like how modern military in world war 2 put sexy girl decals and such on their bombers.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 810.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: