I'm Anis and Yes I'm New!

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

There’s another newbie in this community, thanks to @trangbaby, @dora381 and @forykw! I am thankful for your kindness and openness to support and guide me as I get started. I am super excited to join in and start writing!

Introductions are always a little bit awkward aye? Alright let’s start with the basics, my name is Anis and you pronounce it like the spice, Star Anise!

I have to apologise in advance because now every time you think about a star or the spice you’ll think about me, oops, sorry not sorry! 😜

StarAnis.jpg

I’ve had (and still occasionally have) people butcher my name and it hurts my soul each time so that’s why I create that mental shortcut for people. People have called me:

  • Anisa (pronounced: A-nee-sa) - adding another letter to my name
  • Anis (pronounced: Eh-nise)

or worse… I know you already know what it is without me spelling it out for you

From Anis to Alice?

I usually would correct people’s pronunciation but I stop after some point and accept that my name will be butchered if that person really can’t be helped anymore 😅 When I first migrated to New Zealand, where I am living now, I briefly considered changing to a more common English name to avoid all this hassle.

I thought about Alice - it sounds like Anis but with an ‘l’ and ‘c’ instead of ‘n’ and ‘s’ so it won’t take me too long to get used to the new name. I am like Alice in Wonderland anyways, small, dangerously curious, and gets excited about the smallest things, so it is quite a fitting name for me.

Polish_20210515_213513327 (2).jpg

But obviously, I never changed it and chose to keep my birth name because I came to realise that I love my name! This is a big realisation because I used to dislike it.

Disliking my Name

Anis is a masculine name in the Arabic language, but in Malaysia, where I am from it can be used for both males and females. I used to get teased for sharing the same name with boys in my school and would feel so conscious about having a ‘boy’ name.

For the longest time, I introduced myself with my middle name which is four syllables long. To make my name easier for people to remember, I would slice it up in different ways into one or two syllables. I created four different nicknames and would introduce myself with different names depending on the context, groups (family, friends) and types of people.

mehface.jpg

It was honestly confusing for my friends and me but my younger self thought it was brilliant. This went on throughout my school years and I only started going by Anis when I was 18 years old. It was partly, or maybe it was entirely because my childhood best friend whom I also had a crush on at that point said he likes my first name.

I am glad I make that change because now I am grateful for my name.

I am my name

أنيس in Arabic means friendly, companion or close friend. My parents thought carefully about my name and I’m grateful for it because it fits who I am as a person.

IMG_20220106_221641_063.jpg

I definitely see myself as a friendly person who is capable of making close friendships. I know that it shows in my behaviour too. People around me have said that I am approachable and that I provide good company whether it’s sitting quietly together, having loud banters or engaging in long and deep conversations. Whenever I develop a close friendship with someone I can connect with, it further affirms my belief that I am my name.

This way of looking at myself is especially helpful when I migrated to New Zealand and had to build new friendships and support systems. It was scary but I know I can always make new friends, and develop close connections with people around me.

So to me, a name is never just a name, it is an affirmation, a prayer, and a reminder of who I am.

I put a lot of significance to someone’s name as I put it to my name. How about you? Do you feel attached to your birth name? Does it have a special meaning, story or memory to you?

I would love to learn your name and get to know more about you through it 😄

Sort:  

Whoooowhooooooo! You made it! =) !LOL

I put a lot of significance to someone’s name as I put it to my name. How about you? Do you feel attached to your birth name? Does it have a special meaning, story or memory to you?

I usually give more significance to what others call me (even if it's not my name). Usually, that tells me something about the person calling me that, which is one more source of information... and I am all about information person. So, massive yes! Call me whatever you wish =) I learn from it too.

There you go... happy learning and fun moments on HIVE. There is a Galaxy of people over here...

Yes, I made it! 😁 Interesting, I don't know you enough to give you a nickname but maybe this can be a reason to get to know you better. I already know one memorable thing about you and that is you really don't like cooking games 😂 I, on the other hand, almost only play cooking games!!! 🤣🤣🤣

Yeah... 😅 that's correct. And I have a very good reason for it... !LOL

I love food and cooking (experimental cooking especially) and when playing games around the same objective, they drive me crazy! And the end-result is I never keep playing them for long... instead, I grab some stuff and cook something for me that I really enjoy or had opportunity to think about in that "gaming" moment.

Either way... food is something I like. I am Portuguese, so that shouldn't be very awkward. I think!? 😉

I know a somehow related cooking game on HIVE but I am unsure (haven't checked on progress for a while) the current status. Currently you can only catch fish on it... with a rod... https://www.fishmaster.io/game but I know there was some planned "cooking" features on it using #NFTs.

Never tell a pun to a kleptomaniac
They're always taking things literally.

Credit: lofone
@omoitsanis, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @forykw
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/4)

Oh by experimental cooking do you mean trying new recipes or something else? I absolutely enjoy cooking. I quite often try new recipes or dishes. It's really fun for me. I find cooking games so stressful but in a good way 😂 Sometimes I catch myself not breathing during a game if it's really stressful 🤣😅

Ooo I hope they develop it further soon. Keen to play new cooking games!

Oh by experimental cooking do you mean trying new recipes or something else?

Going wild! Just doing experiments... trying tastes combinations, tasting, tasting, tasting... of course... after a few tries, you already know what doesn't really go with something.

Hacking food "standard" dishes or leftovers is also my kind =)

😮 Love that! Will we ever get to see you experimenting in the kitchen? Haha

I have a couple of old posts with some of them. From time to time I share some crazy ideas. Usually, more like to tease the community saliva =)

I threw a boomarang a few years ago that never came back.
I now live in constant fear.

Credit: bulldog-joy
@omoitsanis, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @forykw
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (2/4)

Hey Anis. You've finally made it. Anis is a beautiful name and I love the way you explain it.
Welcome to Hive and I hope you will have a pleasant journey on the platform and happy blogging.
Looking forward to reading more posts from you
Much !LUV from Viet Nam ❤️

Woohoo! Yes, I'm here now 😁 Hehe thanks - it took me a while to like my name but I'm here now. Thank you for your warm welcome! I can't wait to write more and also to get to know you more through your posts 😄

Welcome to the club ✌️

Thanks! Glad to be here 😄

Welcome to Hive community:))

Thank you ^-^

Hello, @omoitsanis! This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive Blockchain! Congratulations and welcome!

Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!

Will do! Thanks for this 😊 I'll check it out soon!

Welcome cậu đến với Hive nhé 😻

Cảm ơn 😊

Congratulations @omoitsanis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome Anis! I hope you like it here. And, I like your name.
Best wishes!

Aww, thanks! I already like it here. People are so welcoming! 😍

Nice. Explore the fun...

!PIZZA

OMG Anis, I love your name. I haven't told you this but when my sister-in-law asked me to help her choose a name for my niece, Anis is one of the options for her because my niece Vietnamese name is Anh so Anis would be a close one. Now I know the meaning behind your name, I can tell my sister-in-law too.

For me, I don't feel attached to my birth name. My parents didn't think about the meaning of my name, they just like it. When I migrated to NZ, I chose Dora an easy name for people to call me and remember. The reason I took this name is that Dora means Gift. I like it because I want to live my life as a gift, bringing happiness, fun and meaningful moments.

Later on, when I found out about Dora the explorer, I even love Dora as my name more. I love to explore life just like Dora and I want to live my life under the eyes of a child, always curious and excited to explore things, never afraid of making mistakes and keeping moving on.

Anyway welcome to Hive and thank you for taking up my invitation to join Hive. I am so glad that we both love to write more and we can have fun doing it together here. All the best Anis !LUV

Dora, how can you not tell me that before! Omg, what an honour!!! That makes me so happy to find out. FYI the feminine version of Anis is Anisa.

Thanks for sharing your story! I honestly always felt like your name, Dora, fits who you are - explorative and curious. And I do think you are also a gift to people around you 💛 I'm so glad we're friends! Maybe we can start exploring this together more? Hehe

to be honest, I only had a quick chat with my sister-in-law so I didnt remember it until I read your story :) Anisa is a beautiful name too, we will keep all the options so my niece can choose her own english name later.

I would love to be in this journey with you. Let's explore our worlds together

Let's goooooooo

Hello Anis! You have such a unique name! I would like to welcome you to Hive 🤗🤗 I hope you will enjoy your time here in this platform 🥺🤗

Hi Era! Hehe thank you 😊 and thanks for welcoming me! I have a feeling I'll really like it here 😄

Just enjoy your time here by posting some wonderful content🤗🤗

Will do ✨👯

Hello Anis @omoitsanis, such a gorgeous name indeed. A warm welcome to the Hive family! Have fun! 😊

Thank you 😊 I'm happy to be part of it!

Welcome you to Hive community, I hope you will find a lot of fun in this community. 😊

Thanks! I am sure I will! 💃

What a beautiful name Anis, welcome to this wonderful community😊

Thanks Akash 😊

Love the way you explained your name. it's funny and easy to remember. Of course now thinking of the spice star anise I'll definitely think of your name. Welcome to Hive!

Haha, thanks! It works for people who cook or know about the spice. When they don't know, it gets somewhat awkward 🤣

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
chrysanthemum tipped omoitsanis (x1)
@forykw(1/15) tipped @omoitsanis (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Hi Anis and welcome from the other side of the big ditch in Australia. I hope forykw invited you to the @atexoras.pub

Hi Brad, thank you! No he didn't but i'll check it out 😊

Hi Anis, welcome to Hive!
You have a lovely name, and you sound like a very bubbly person.
Hope to see more of your posts. 😀

Hi Sunny! Thank you for stopping by 🤗🤗 Yes, I am bubbly hehe. Depending on the person they either like it or find me absolutely annoying hahaha. I post once a week at the moment but I hope to increase it in the future. I'll see you around!!!

Welcome to the home sweetheart...

Thanks! But please just call me Anis instead 🙂