You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The passing of time

in OCD4 years ago

What I have done, is that I have put everything into Marian's name.
We are now in our 17 and a half year of marriage and I don't think this one will go bottoms up just yet. She is 23 years younger than me and getting a bit long in the tooth, but I have no thoughts about trading her in for a younger one as yet Lol.

My eldest is off with her family to the UK soon, taking a transfer to the HO of her company, my son has his own company as does his younger sister and they are all well off. I raised my kids to be fiercely independent and maybe the best thing that I have done in my life.

You must get a peek into many current life stories as the champion of the engagement league. I hope that I am the one with the least complaints lol.

Glad that you enjoyed and appreciated your time at that old castle my friend. Many would breeze through it without a thought about its history.
Take care!

Sort:  

It sounds like your kids took your lead and created lives that they are happy with and proud of. I think that's one of the things a parent could be most proud of; Making sure something is left behind when we go is less important as making sure we journey through life the best we can, be humble and kind and the best version of ourselves as possible.

Just my opinion, but I'm not a parent so maybe I'm a little off-base. Makes no difference though as my opinion is always going to be what it is.

Have a good weekend.

I think that if you were to be a parent that you would be a great parent.
But in saying that, no parent can be perfect and it is mostly the seeds that one sow in their early lives that one can hope for.
In my 30s I had a vasectomy, as all my kids were born in my 20S and I regarded my child raising days as completed.

So now we also don't have any children and I have to say that a great responsibility was taken away. We are free to come and go as we please, apart from our work commitments and I am sure that you guys are in the same situation.

Not having children is something that used to bother me a little but these days I look at the world and figure it's for the best. It's not moving in a direction that I'm overly happy with.

It gives us a little more freedom of course, as you say. We don't have the same financial responsibilities as parents do either, so have a little left over each pay cycle. It's not going to change so we deal with it, live as best we can.

Yeah, that's the way to look at life. At times it also used to trouble us, but as we work with many children we can parent them as best we can.
A mistake is to arrange buses and to take 100 and something children for a free visit to the circus. They are all orphans from a township.

We had a day of horrors with unruly excited kids running all over the place hahaha. I easily aged about 20 years on that day:)

Wise to accept it as then you guys can have peace with it!

100 kids on a bus...You are a glutton for punishment. But I bet they enjoyed the day.

They went crazy and we were nervous wrecks at the end of the day.
Little buggers ran all over the place, even had to search for dome under the circus seats and it was a madhouse. But we learned a great lesson.
All of the other outings took place at a school's fenced sports fields.
We rented jumping castles and hired a pancake truck and trailer for the eats. We had cricket sets and soccer balls and things were much better controlled.

The lesson is doing the events in the school grounds? I was thinking it might be tie a rope around their waists and hang on to the other end. Lol.