You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why wouldn't someone join Hive?

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

professionals get paid, not amateurs.

That is our problem here. Two guys that I invited, the one is fairly computer literate and the other is just an ordinary guy like me. Both have a strong Facebook presence and they could do well on Hive.

But! The one struggled to get in at his first try and he never bothered again. The other told me that crypto was too difficult and he didn't have the time for all the intricacies.

I think that there is a lack of incentives to hook newbies and like I said before, Hive has to become more friendly.

Sort:  

Clear step-by-step instruction without too much of "blockchain things". So newbie can understand it as get paid to post any content.

Step-by-step is the answer my friend!

I think there are plenty of incentives, but perhaps most people are yet to understand them. For example, censorship resistance and the ability to buy a subscription for lifetime membership and value. It isn't obvious at first though.

Removing HBI which it basically is on hold for new accounts right now. I saw a comment on discord and they have 25 HBI and single figures Hive yet they are being down voted. Not great as this was our building tool for new accounts.

Hive basic income?

Yes Hive Basic Income. Down voting anyone who basically uses it.This was the new accounts tool for growth as many were given out as prizes. I know I used to give the odd ones out as it does help.

Well maybe all of these things must appear first up so that it can inspire some confidence methinks!
Many people are nervous and may I say even doubtful at their first attempt and the "scam" thought is uppermost in their minds!

Yep, this is why I think applications are the way, as they offer narrow incentives (play and win at a game - earn some points) while introducing people to the ecosystem a step at a time (take those points, transfer, exchange, spend)

Yeah, and a good idea for a start.
Just as they have the free coding education projects for children.
Very basic at first, but at the end of only a 2 week period, graduates can build their own games.
Hive should follow the same example for new entrants and we could even fit a bit of coding education in towards the end of the welcoming project, curriculum!

I think that once /if things get going, all kinds of groups will leverage the environment to build their experiences. Lots of opportunities for education.

Looking forward is all that we can do my friend!

... censorship resistance ...

Are you serious? After the outragous manipulation of the blockchain during the resynced fork do you really trust the V.22.2 Cabal with securing your data? Just the way they have walked away from loyal supporters to their many dApps on STEEM goes to show you that users mean nothing but more token grinding to the V.22.2 Cabal.

Are you on the wrong chain?

Are you on the wrong chain?

Powering down on both chains and shifting HIVE and STEEM to XMR and BTC respectively. Like to call it curating my way out the door. 😎

different chain, same problems.

I think that there is a lack of incentives to hook newbies and like I said before, Hive has to become more friendly.

My thoughts exactly. I don't think Hive is newbie friendly. I'm still quite a newbie myself, on the Hive. Although I've had good experience on Steemit.

I tried registering on hive but must admit it was difficult, waited for my keys like anyone else but had nothing come through. I refuse to pay for it especially when I have no clue about this site really and was asked to try it out from a friend.
As my keys password didn’t come through , he set me up with a account.
I love the fact that you can do what you normally do on others platforms and get paid even if it’s minor , makes perfect sense to me . As I’m still learning and understanding how this all works ,I’m finding it very interesting.

Hopefully the signup process gets easier. If you don't mind me asking, where did you register?

I love the fact that you can do what you normally do on others platforms and get paid even if it’s minor , makes perfect sense to me

There is an immense amountof value that is transferred across social media platforms in many streams - I think those who actually add the value you should get some of the value they generate too.

Well at least you have some steemit experience, but I am talking about those that have absolutely no experience. If we struggle at times, imagine how they struggle.

I agree on this point.
I asked many people to use Hive, and build a community here.
90% of them didnt understand it well enough,
they got confused with everything, struggled for sometime and gave up :(
though most understood the concept and really appreciated, they said it would have been great if the platform was more like "Noob friendly".
I hope one day Hive becomes something like noob friendly!

A good name that; "Noob friendly".
Problem is that people don't like to struggle and many don't have any persistence. But yes, agreed, something needs to be done!

Yes, because we also need to think of it that way where people who are not into cryptocurrency can also come and log in to Hive and start their new decentralized social-media journey:)
I personally see this platform to be a very good use case for mass adoption in cryptos as well, but there are a few drawbacks. I hope they will get addressed soon! :)

Well the platform is fairly new and everyone is working hard on it, so I am sure that given time Hive will mature into an outstanding platform.
Let's see how it goes.