Nigeria Current State and its Effect on My Life as Well as Others

in OCD4 months ago

There is a problem in Nigeria currently for the ordinary man and that is the problem of having higher expenses than income. The situation in Nigeria has gone from bad to worse, and personally I am affected. It is very difficult for me have eat on a daily basis, and I hope that it would get better one day.

The beginning of the Tinubu government came with a shock which was the removal of fuel subsidy. Before this, the country was in a comatoes state and a lot of people believed that the new government was going to alleviate the suffering of the people but with the declaration of subsidy, the case went to a near death case. It is believed by a lot of people that subsidy is a palliative that the government give to the citizen on fuel, so as to reduce the high cost of petroleum products but then they decided to remove the subsidy, telling us that they are going to use the proceeds from it for capital project and development.


wikimedia

While it looks like they have clear intention, we need to understand that over 133 million citizens are living below poverty line and this decision is completely hard on them but then, it is very difficult again when we see that the government might not even use the money from the subsidy to do anything relevant. The supplementary budget that the government submitted was filled with unnecessary details that isn't necessary for a country that is experiencing economic issues.

We are a oil producing country, but everything is terrible since we do not have a single refinery to refine our oil. With the increase in oil subsidy and the effect of naira devaluation which led to the naira to fall 1200 to 1 dollar, the cost of living has increased, from food to every basic thing. The price of transportation is now 500% what it was before subsidy was removed, food prices is now 7X what is was before this yet, wages and salaries are yet to be increased. I am affected by this changes, and not just me, a lot of people are affected by these changes.

The economic landscape in Nigeria presents a grim reality for its citizens like me. The removal of fuel subsidies, coupled with the devaluation of the naira, has led to a cost of living crisis, severely affecting millions, including myself. As a citizen, I continue to hope for changes that can bring about significant improvement in my daily lives and the overall economic health of this nation.

Sort:  

You posted this earlier on and deleted it to repost. Regardless of what your reason is, that is a form of abuse on Hive to potentially milk rewards and is not tolerated. Also, the OCD community should only be used when there is no suitable niche community. You can post Nigeria related contend in Hive Niaja https://peakd.com/c/hive-11060/created. Please note for future reference. Thanks

Thanks a lot for the correction, but this is not enough reason to downvoting me. As you can see, I am still quite new here, also I believe I made the first post in the wrong community being STEMSOCIAL, which I saw was a place for science related content and I deleted it. You can check the post, you would see that I deleted it and indicated that it be ignored. Anyways thanks for the correction.

Don't get too hung up with downvotes, it's unhealthy especially when you challenge whether it's reasonable or not.

Focus your attention on engagement. In the past month, you have made 8 posts, and only 8 comments all on your own posts. You have not cast a single upvote and have withdrawn all your liquid Hive. You are free to do as you please with your earnings, but for a self claim newbie you know a lot about withdrawal routes. None of your actions indicate your desire for a long term view on Hive, so please don't tell me what is reasonable or not.

I am not challenging upvotes or downvotes, I am only saying I didn’t write two post to farm. When I arrived here 8 months ago, I asked people to assist me to understand the ecosystem but didn’t get anyone. Got fed up and had to leave since I could not navigate the platform when the person who introduced me to hive via OCD incubation process stop responding to my messages. I didn’t know what else to do. I decided to leave but I decided not to give up on this because someone decided to bring me to a platform and not reply my messages again.

The reason why I post on OCD is because that was the platform/community that got me into the hive. I am still learning about this hive, as you would have seen that I just began creating content again.

I did not mean to be rude please, but if you can explain to me how to navigate this ecosystem properly, I will appreciate. Thanks

Here's one of the very first comment you received when you joined Hive. It has a whole host of useful links, if you read them you would know a lot about Hive.
image.png

You posted in the OCD Community, and there is a pinned message, that gives you more information here.
image.png

All this is spoon feeding you information without you asking for it. In fact I went through all your earlier comments on Hive and can't see where you have asked people for help.

Hive is a community just like the real world, it is up to you to go and reach out to others and expand your network. You're not a five year old and don't need to be taught how to suck eggs. There are hundreds of Nigerians on Hive and tens of thousands of non Nigerians, many of who have multi nation friends in their network. The fact you failed to make one single comment on somebody else's post nor cast one single vote, probably means you did not bother to engage with anyone at all.

Work on your engagement and network before you create more content.

Thanks a lot for the explanation…