drawing important people (part 1)

in OCD4 years ago

Hello, it is a pleasure to address you again, today I bring you a new section where I will draw people from my family who are truly important in my daily life. It has been a while since my last post, I want to apologize in advance, the reason for this has to do a lot with the type of drawing I made.
This time I bring you two faces on one sheet, it is the reason why I last much longer doing it, it takes time, physical and emotional effort.
I made a portrait of my paternal grandparents, It was a challenge, since my grandmother unfortunately passed away three years ago, so making this drawing needed a lot of strength, I had to take breaks and take it easy because the emotional weight is a lot.
so I really hope you enjoy the process

materials :

  • white sheet
  • pencils 5h, hb, 2b, 4b, 6b
  • medium charcoal
  • eraser
  • blur

-this is the result

abuelo 4.jpeg

They made a nice couple right?

now as you already know we will proceed with the explanations of the elaboration.
I reduced the procedure to 4 steps

  • STEP 1

I started doing the grid or guide lines, you can use the method with which you feel comfortable and have more ease when drawing; after that, shade the most important parts of the face to mark her expression lines.
I also made the second sketch that I would shade later

abuelos 1.jpeg

  • STEP 2

I finished with the hair and the surroundings, taking out the shine and the darkest parts, likewise I finished giving details to the face. as you will notice in this particular drawing I wanted the background to be black, so with the medium charcoal I made the bottom.
Regarding pencils, you can use hb for lighter areas for lighter areas and 2b for slightly darker areas.
I drew the hair with pencils 4b and 6b

abuelos 2.jpeg

  • STEP 3

in this step I already have my grandfather, it was the same procedure. use pencil 6b for the jacket, I must say that the eyes gave me problems, I did not know how to project his gaze correctly, volume and depth was also challenging, but with perseverance and effort I was able to do it

abuelo3.jpeg

  • STEP 4

And finally the hair is short so I could do it easily, use pencil 2b and 4b, if you can detail well, the hair is made up of lines, whether small or large, curved or straight.
I gave final details to my face and voila

abuelo 4.jpeg

I hope you liked it and can learn something new from the little knowledge I have.

This drawing left me a lot of learning, art is not just techniques or memorizing concepts, it is also about feelings and how you shape them around you. When I see the portrait of my grandparents, it transmits feelings to me, that is what I want the people who observe my art to capture, those feelings expressed on paper, if I achieve that, I will be able to be called an artist.

I really want you to accompany me in my growth as an artist and as a person
Thank you with all my heart and greetings to all.

take care.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pecesitaaleja! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP