Free Speech— Right to express yourself.

in OCD4 years ago

HELLO BEES

WHAT IS FREE SPEECH?

images.jpeg

Image Source

I have heard many times about Free Speech which in words itself means "Speech which is free to talk" but is it actually free? I have seen many posts about "Free Speech" by many other users and I have seen different opinions about it. It depends on their perspective, how they see "Free Speech".
Well for me I would like to say "Free Speech is Never Free".
I am still 18 years and from the last 10 years, I have seen "Free Speech" is being suppressed in my homeland.
Being a KASHMIRI, I have seen several times that the voice of people is suppressed by the authorities. The reason behind it is that the people of my homeland want freedom from our Country INDIA which the Indian government won't accept. Back in the early decade of this century, when someone wants to talk about freedom, the Indian government put him under prison or put him under " Public Safety Act ". Some of them were prisoned for the rest of their life and some of them were given sentences to death. It makes hatred inside people of my homeland to India.
When social media came into power, many of them want to share their thoughts of patriotism through social media but authorities were sneaking into everyone's profile and their articles which also led many people to get arrested and prisoned.
So I would like to say " Free Speech has been snatched from ages in my homeland " and no one paid heed towards it.

IF YOU WANT TO SPEAK LET OTHERS SPEAK.

I don't know about others, but according to me, I will say " If you want to speak loudly, let others speak ". I am a person who talks less. It doesn't mean I don't know how to talk, but I make others speak their notions which intern makes me sure what to talk next. It makes me more confident to talk about the particular topic which results in a safe and effective conversation.

Free Speech doesn't mean to hide your thoughts and let others overrule you. Free Speech means to talk freely about your thoughts and opinions without any interference. In fact, Free Speech means freedom to talk, freedom of expression which is being considered as the law. Free speech gives the right to express feelings, ideas, and thoughts without any fear of being censored, retaliate.

Nowadays, the Internet is the biggest source to put your thoughts upfront but the authority has also put it under surveillance and if someone talks against it, they will take action against him. Of course, free speech often leads to some sort of issues in the community in terms of religion, race, etc but if we suppress this speech we will never be able to talk freely by ourselves. As I already said If we want free speech for ourselves we should let others speak freely. Free Speech doesn't only mean speaking about your thoughts and opinions but it also means listening to other people which makes the thoughts clear about them.

Free Speech doesn't mean to speak against patriotism or to create offense. Free Speech means to let people speak freely whatever they want to speak without any kind of fear. Free Speech is much more important for a community to develop and live happily. It has made the biggest impact on our lives if it was not there people would have been still living in a dictatorship like slaves. So it is way more important in society to listen to each other and give rise to a happy life.

"the only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized community, against his will, is to prevent harm to others."
By John Stuart Mill

Logo.png

Thank you.

I hope you guys liked my post.

Keep Supporting.

UPVOTECOMMENTRESTEEM
IF YOULIKEDMY POST

Logo.png

Created by @zord189

Stay Safe, Stay Home

@peerzadazeeshan